Home SOUTH LONDON HARRIERS

Component Configuration Error:

Comments

No new comments.
DRAFT OLD VERSION LIVE

Page Title

This component has not been configured.
{"ID":419,"SpaceID":15,"PageID":16,"HasCommentsThread":false,"SeoTags":{"PageID":0,"MetaDescription":{"ID":0,"Name":"description","Value":null},"MetaKeywords":{"ID":0,"Name":"keywords","Value":null},"OgTitle":{"ID":0,"Name":"og:title","Value":null},"OgDescription":{"ID":0,"Name":"og:description","Value":null},"OgType":{"ID":0,"Name":"og:type","Value":null},"OgImage":{"ID":0,"Name":"og:image","Value":null},"CustomTags":[],"AllTags":[]},"Path":"SLH+History","Title":"SLH History","Author":{"ID":2,"Name":"Mary James"},"Version":6,"IsDraft":false,"IsOldVersion":false,"PublicationDate":"23/09/2019 15:39","VersionDescription":"v6 - SLH History - Mary James - 23/09/2019 15:39","HideHeader":false,"IsFullWidth":false,"Blocks":[{"Columns":[{"InstanceID":"454","Width":12,"WidthClasses":"col-md-12","Type":"HTML","Content":"\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003eA comprehensive history of SLH and athletics in England.\u0026nbsp;F. David \u0027Ferdie\u0027 Gilson (updated 24/2/2015)\u003c/em\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cul\u003e\u003cli\u003eFoundation of SLH\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eEarly Records\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eAthletics Pre-1850\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eAthletics Mid 1800s to WW1\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eAthletics Post-WW1\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eSLH post-WW2\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eSLH venues over time\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eSLH in competition\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eDistinguished coaches from the past\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eNotable SLH members\u003c/li\u003e\u003c/ul\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eFoundation of SLH\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eS.L.H. was formed on 27th December, 1871\u003c/strong\u003e at a meeting in the Vivian Hotel, at 34 Philip Road (now known as Philip Walk), Peckham Rye, SE15.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere was a similar Club close by in Peckham Rye, which was founded at \"The King\u0027s Arms\", as Peckham Hare \u0026 Hounds in October 1869, before soon changing its name to Peckham Amateur Athletic Club (PAAC). It later moved to \"The Rye House\", and in July 1878 moved from the Peckham Rye area to become the Blackheath Harriers based at a former important staging post on the Dover Road, \"The Green Man\", 1 Dartmouth Row, Blackheath, SE10, which had been founded before 1629.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eMr. Ernest E. Smith\u0026nbsp;unfolded his plan to found a new club \"South London Harriers\"\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBriefly prominent amongst PAAC\u0027s members was the dynamic Mr. Ernest E. Smith, who became their handicapper in October 1871. With a characteristic flourish, he presented a \"Challenge Belt\" for a Mile Steeplechase and a \"Handicapper\u0027s Cup\" for a 440 yards race. Characteristically, he soon demanded that the cup should be renamed \"Mr. Smith\u0027s\" and results of that Race should be reported in the press. However, the PAAC Committee felt that this was too egotistical and flamboyant for their fledgling club, and rejected his demands.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eInevitably, Ernest Smith\u0027s temperament and his outlook on athletics would always lead to friction with associates and his endeavours usually ended in tears. It was no surprise that he soon left the PAAC after disputes over either the habit of smoking in the Club\u0027s changing room or his questionable impartiality as their handicapper, or both. It seems that Ernest Smith was at the centre of these disputes, although whether he was a smoker or non-smoker is not clear. However, in those days, membership of such clubs was known to be confined exclusively to \u0027Gentlemen Amateurs\u0027, although it seems that some members didn\u0027t always behave like gentlemen.\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt so happened that at a banquet in \"The King\u0027s Head\", Roehampton, following a prestigious cross country challenge match between Thames Hare \u0026 Hounds and \"All Comers\" at Roehampton on October 28th 1871, Ernest Smith approached the 25 year-old Uppingham School alumnus, Charles Henry Larrette (b. c.1846 – d. 9/5/1913), who had run well in the race for the \"All-Comers\" that afternoon. Smith unfolded his plan to found a new club \"South London Harriers\". If Larrette would support him in this venture, Smith vowed to carry it through.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCharles Larrette, who had been living and competing in South Wales for some time, was impressed and SLH was founded the day after Boxing Day 1871, at a meeting attended by three ex-members of PAAC. Within a month or so, PAAC had lost five of their total twenty members to SLH, who soon overtook our rivals with 63 active members by the first SLH AGM in April 1872, and quickly developed into a major force in the land. In 1873, our active membership had risen to 108 members.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe \"Inauguration of a New Pack\", 13\u0026nbsp;January\u0026nbsp;1872\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur first cross country (CC) training-run was described by the South London Chronicle as the \"Inauguration of a New Pack (i.e. CC Club)\". This true beginning for SLH took place on January 13th, 1872, in the form of a \u0027Hare \u0026 Hounds\u0027 run, in which. Mr. Beaumont Kent acted as the \u0027Hare\u0027 and started at 3.45pm in the direction of Dulwich, whilst the \u0027Hounds\u0027 (all the other runners) including Charles Larrette \u0026 J. Finlay (a Shrewsbury School alumnus) started at 4pm. Our Club\u0027s fifth training run took place on February 27th, when 9 members ran the then longest \u0027CC Club training run\u0027 of about 29 miles on the special \u0027Thanksgiving\u0027 Tuesday Bank Holiday, to celebrate the recovery from typhoid of the then Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe first SLH open track meeting, 24 August 1872\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter much success in track \u0026 field meetings that summer, S.L.H. promoted its first \u0027open\u0027 track meeting on August 24th, 1872 in the vast 26 acre grounds of the then 47-room \u0027Belair\u0027 House, London SE21. It was an 18th Century Georgian mansion, leased from Dulwich College by an SLH Vice-President, Charles W. Hutton, a wool merchant and Sheriff of Middlesex \u0026 London who was the SLH President (1873/74). The mansion and the grounds (from 1965 called \u0027Belair\u0027 Park) were sited on the corner of Gallery Road, Dulwich, and Thurlow Park Road that forms part of what is now the A205 South Circular Road.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\"Irrepressibles\"\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn those early days of organised athletics our members, though few in number, soon gained the soubriquet of the \"Irrepressibles\" due to their habit of winning 1st, 2nd or 3rd place prizes in almost every track \u0026 field open meeting in the 1870s. This may well have owed something to our custom in those days of forming groups to go on tour at weekends and in the holidays to compete in various summer athletics meetings around the country.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe formation of clubs, for adults, for the specific purpose of promoting recreational and competitive amateur athletics was a new development in the sports world of the mid-19th century. However, these clubs did not just appear out of thin air. At this time, sports meetings with running, jumping and throwing events were not uncommon in schools, university colleges and even military establishments.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSuch meetings had been held at the Royal Military College, Sandhurst from as early as around 1812, at Eton College from 1837 and at the Royal Military Academy, Woolwich (from 1849 until 1853). Similar meetings were sometimes organised by clubs whose primary interest lay in other sports such as rowing, cricket, rugby football or association football (soccer)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eEarly records\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIf significant and practical time travel were possible and available to us today, many such important questions surrounding the early years of South London Harriers (SLH), could no doubt be answered.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAs time travel to go as far back as to the mid-19th Century, and to return safely to the present day, are not yet options in our search for the answers to these and other questions, we are left with those records, which have survived to this day.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe good news is that many of our Minutes’ books and Treasurers’ ledgers are still intact and we have every single issue of our ‘SLH Gazette \u0026 Club Chronicle’, going back to January 1885, when it was first issued, only just over thirteen years after our Club was founded.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe bad news is that although our early members were no doubt very fine fellows, historians they were not. The first Minutes’ Book, which covers the period until late 1879, contains only brief details and does not record all committee meetings that took place before June 1876.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis fact is patently clear, as local newspapers, which often recorded brief details of our early Committee meetings, reported at least one such meeting not included in our first Minutes’ Book and the number of membership-changes not recorded therein, was at least two-thirds of all such changes. These missing membership-changes include the election of some of our most famous early members.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFurthermore, several Minutes’ books from our first sixty years of existence were destroyed, during an air raid on London. Most galling is the loss of those covering the period from late 1879 until the advent of our Club Gazette in 1885. This is only partially compensated for by the survival of an early Treasurer’s ledger covering the period from October 1876 to January 1882.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOld results and reports featured in national and local newspapers were available on microfilm at the British Museum’s Newspaper Annex at Colindale until it was closed recently. Those old results and reports are gradually being made available on the internet. Old results and reports are available to view on microfiche at the Local History Library in each of the Local Authorities in which we have been based.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, one soon learns that newspaper editors have always had only two main aims, to fill all the pages and then to sell as many copies of each issue as possible. What they fill the pages with is of less importance, although if it is eye-catching to prospective readers, then that is all to the good.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt is now almost impossible for anyone to reach back so far and arrive at complete answers to all the questions that we might wish to ask or to gain a full understanding of what it was really like to live in that time. Probably, most people would now see it as almost a different planet. Certainly, it has been said that “the past is another country, they do things differently there”. \u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eWho were the earliest members of South London Harriers?\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1934, J.P.Arkell, who had joined SLH in September 1893, compiled a splendid 131-page hand-written booklet. It contains a list of members from 1871 to 1900 inclusive, and notes on the Club sources and statistical methods used. As an experienced Civil Service statistician, he was able to reconstruct this list with amazing accuracy.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eJ.P.Arkell’s membership list indicates 135 ordinary members plus several Vice-Presidents had been elected by September 30th 1876. This figure of 135 ordinary members includes ten members who were unknown by name to J.P.Arkell.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, the writer of this history discovered the names of those ten members, plus another twenty-one members, all but one of whom, were elected before August 1872. These recent discoveries in local newspapers of the time on microfilm mean that the names of 156 ordinary members, elected by September 30th 1876, are now known. The turnover in membership was rather higher in the first year or so of the Club’s existence than J.P.Arkell calculated. He used statistical methods based on the wastage figures of a few years later, when the Club had become better established, rather than a fledgling club trying to find its feet in a new ‘world of athletics’.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eWhat kind of people were our early members?\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThey were without exception at least members of the various middle strata of what are loosely called the middle-classes and some were even possibly from the upper middle-classes and upper-classes.. Some of our early Vice-Presidents were even members of the aristocracy or peerage.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur members were mostly engaged in the professions or were something in the City of London. Those who were athletically active had all been born during the early years of Queen Victoria’s reign. Most had been educated at various Public Schools, although some may have been to Grammar School.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe majority of members were in their early twenties although some were as young as 17 or 18 years of age. As it was not customary for men, of the middle-classes and above, to marry until they were able to keep a wife in the manner, style and comfort that she was accustomed to, most of our earliest active members were probably unmarried. They lived in various parts of London either in their parents’ family home or, if their parents lived in the country, in rented ‘lodgings’ (a room or rooms in somebody else’s house). There were few if any blocks of flats for leasing or rental in those days.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eVictorian England was a very hierarchically-conscious society, comprising a long series of small and interconnected social gradations in which each stratum merged imperceptibly into the next. It was a society of countless intricate and subtle distinctions, confusing to foreigners and even some natives.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBy around 1870 the foundations of Victorian England had been laid. Religion, work, self-help, self-reliance and self-control lay at the heart of the lives of the middle-classes and the skilled and respectable working-classes. They all wished to embrace gentility to some degree or other, and in many ways, they shared a number of similar aspirations and had more in common with each other, than with the other elements of society, above and below them.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, competition, one of the main driving forces in the lives of the middle-classes, was not seriously shared with any other section of society.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eWhat sort of world was it then and what was life like for our early members?\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 1867 2nd Representation of the People Act (commonly known as the 2nd Reform Act) had enfranchised all male householders living in towns and cities, who paid £12 pa or more rent, and all their male lodgers, who paid £10 pa or more rent. One in three male adults living in the towns and cities now had the vote compared with the previous one in five in England \u0026 Wales and one in eight in Scotland. In other words, many more urban-adult males, from the skilled and respectable working classes upwards, now had the vote.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 1872 Ballot Act introduced the casting of one’s vote in secret instead of having to declare one’s vote aloud. However, parliamentary candidates and their workers were still able to offer bribes and threaten voters until the 1883 Corrupt \u0026 Illegal Practices Act forbade such activities. Male householders living in the country would not get the vote until the 1884 Franchise Act (3rd Reform Act) and non-Christians would have to wait until 1888 before they were allowed to sit in the House of Commons as MPs.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe river Thames had been an open sewer before Sir Joseph Bazelgette’s new sewerage system had been built in 1865. The dreaded Cholera disease had come from the East in 1849, and was responsible for 14,000 deaths in that year. Another outbreak had claimed a further 10,000 souls in 1854. By 1870, death from Cholera was almost a thing of the past.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOnce the better off Victorians grasped the importance of good drainage, they became obsessed with cleanliness and hygiene. Although new houses now started to come with internal plumbing, the new technology was often not perfect and cracked pipes and inefficient waste traps abounded. These imperfections meant that health problems were by no means all solved.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOn a winter’s day, a family house in the better neighbourhoods would have at least four or five coal-fires alight and might even have up to a dozen fires on the go, if the need arose. Coal-smoke, from thousands upon thousands of domestic fires, kitchen ranges and industrial plants, meant that a murky haze usually hung over London. However, the prevailing westerly wind nearly always made conditions worse in the more eastern parts of London, where more industry was sited.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFog was not quite such a regular occurrence as some 19th Century novels would lead us to believe, as only certain conditions forced smoke downwards to form thick fog, which came in two types, yellow (sulphurous) and black (sooty). However, fog would leave greasy smuts everywhere indoors and outside, and also soiled one’s clothes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eEven if one carried a lighted fire brand in one hand, it was difficult to orient oneself in fog in the day-time, and almost impossible at night. The general confusion was ideal for ‘pickpockets’.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAlthough most fogs were in autumn and winter, they also occurred in summer when kitchen ranges were still needed to be on the go for cooking and for heating water. Typical kitchen ranges, or ‘kitcheners’ as they were sometimes called, most of which were derived from the ‘Bodley’ Range patented in 1802, devoured enormous amounts of coal.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe mixture of fog and the smell of many horses produced a pungent odour, which was typical of Victorian London and the smell was at its worst in the heat of summer.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSir Frederick Treves, a famous medical doctor of the time, calculated that a square mile of fog contained about six tons of soot. Such conditions, which led to the deaths of thousands, would not be generally eased until the 1920s and 1930s when gas and electric fires started to replace some coal-fires. However, fogs only became a rarity after the 1956 Clean Air Act had been introduced.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSurgical operations especially on internal organs, including the appendix, were always life threatening until well into the 20th Century and the introduction of sulpha-drugs. With all these dangers, it is not surprising that so many people, who had survived childhood, died well before retirement age, and that only a relatively few lived beyond the proverbial ‘three score and ten’.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor some reason, ‘Appendicitis’, then a new word for an age-old condition, which had existed under other names, seems to have been more prevalent than it is today. Perhaps the heavy eating and drinking, of many of those who could afford to do so, was responsible. Such excesses certainly did not aid life expectancy.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe middle-classes in the mid-19th Century seem to have eaten well and the reputation for ‘keeping a good table’ was the hallmark of success. Formal entertaining was easier in summer when salmon, lamb and other delicacies were in season. These and bananas, grapes, oranges, peaches and pineapples, which were only available at certain times of the year, were very expensive and were only served at dinner-parties. The grander the dinner and number of guests, the greater the number of courses served, and anything up to as many as fourteen courses were not unknown.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIf keeping food hot was difficult, in those days, keeping it fresh was even more so, despite the existence of not very efficient non-mechanical ‘ice-boxes’. ‘Ice-men’ would deliver blocks of ice for use in these ‘ice-boxes’. The ice would have been cut from ponds and lakes during winter before being stored in vaults deep underground.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the country, where shops were few and far between, obtaining provisions could be a problem especially in winter. Town dwellers were better served due to the proximity of the many urban shops, not only well stocked with staple items, but which also imported exotic delicacies for those who could afford such fare.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFresh fish was cheap, popular and available the whole year round. Mutton, roasted and in various other guises, was the staple meat on most days, whilst a joint of beef was only bought once a week. Bacon was invariably provided at breakfast and sometimes served as a savoury dish at the end of dinner in the evening. Various soups, milk puddings and a galaxy of steamed puddings were daily fare.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAll middle-class families had servants, although the numbers employed naturally depended on the family’s means. Family dinners in the evening usually comprised four courses. However, their servants were often expected to subsist on one or occasionally two courses, though they were probably also allowed to eat any leftovers, which could not be kept fresh. That was the background when SLH was taking its first few steps in the athletics world.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eAthletics Pre-1850\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor many years prior to 1850, athletics sports had been performed by what we would now call amateurs and professionals. No doubt, some of these men had achieved remarkable feats in the prevailing difficult circumstances. However, it is almost certain that before around 1850, the sport of athletics was not practised as a recognised system, nor was there any authentic record of performances. Before that time, it is very doubtful whether times, distances and heights were taken and measured with sufficient accuracy to make reliable records.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThrough the 18th century and earlier part of the 19th century there were two distinct streams of athletics: – athletic contests which were part of the age-old ‘traditional’ sports and professional pedestrianism, which in time began to rank as a branch of legitimate sport, in the same manner as ‘prize-fighting’.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor many centuries, sport was a feature of life although it was mostly confined to what are now termed ‘traditional\u0027 sports. They were a remarkable range of games and contests organised and played on a very local basis to local rules, passed from one generation to the next by word of mouth. Each village and town had its own forms of ball games, running races, jumping, throwing, fighting and animal sports, which owed much to the fact that for centuries most people of one part of the country knew next to nothing of the other parts.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eTravel was so difficult in a group of offshore islands with a temperate climate (the British Isles), naturally receiving more than its share of rain, which rendered the highways impassable for much of the year in the days when only a privileged few could afford to travel on horseback, whilst the members of the limited middle classes had to suffer much discomfort in the un-sprung wagons and later the un-sprung windowless coaches of the times. The majority of the population, the labouring poor had no other choice but to travel on foot if they had to travel.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThese ‘traditional’ sports were not necessarily childish or primitive. They often had complex rules and such concepts as ‘off-side’ and strategies for deceiving, marking and blocking the opposition in the same way that the ‘offensive’ and ‘defensive’ units of modern American Football (Gridiron) are deployed.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, in contrast to most modern sport, ‘traditional’ sports tended to be integral parts of a wider pattern of amusements held during – religious festivals; the local parish’s ‘wakes’ honouring the local patron saint; and on May Day when a local youth was elected ‘Lord of Misrule’. These sports were rooted in the territorial and ‘rites of passage/conjugal’ order. Deep attachment to the land, a fierce local patriotism and the assertion of each generation’s identity, were at the heart of these popular recreations, which in some small measure brightened the lot of ordinary folk in those times.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere was little national sport in the modern sense, although there were at least two quasi-national events. The Cotswold Games’, revived in 1604, attracted huge crowds to Dover’s Hill near Chipping Campden, Gloucester, to watch leaping, shin-kicking, wrestling, coursing and jousting. In the mid-18th century, they seem to have given way to the ‘Much Wenlock Games’ in Shropshire. These Games were more like a miniature version of the ancient Olympic Games. It is said that the ‘Much Wenlock Games’ inspired Baron de Coubertin to revive the Olympic Games in 1896, when they were initially called the ‘Olympian Games’.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 18th century had seen a distinct commercialism of leisure. The theatre, music, dancing and even sports were activities to which the new leisured middle-class, although small in numbers, increasingly aspired.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAristocratic patronage had enabled some sports – horse racing, cricket, professional rowing and prize fighting, to become more formalised and appear on a larger stage. The founding of the Jockey Club (1752), the MCC (1788) and the introduction of a rudimentary national prize fighting Championship, under the ‘Broughton Rules’ (1743-1860), attracted crowds of up to 10,000 from far and wide.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eProfessional pedestrianism\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe second distinct stream of athletics was professional pedestrianism, which had had a regular history ever since the Restoration in 1660. This probably started when gentleman took to having both town and country houses. Travel on the abominable roads of the time between their houses was so slow that their footmen could run faster than the family horse-drawn-coach and could even go further in a day than a man on horseback.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn an age given over to much gambling, gentlemen arranged matches between their footmen who were often little more than professional pedestrians retained for that specific purpose. A strong runner could easily obtain a position as a footman and his duties, of carrying messages or going in front of the family coach to make arrangements for the journey, kept him in good fettle for such matches that his master might arrange. However, the improved roads by the end of the 18th century gradually made the running footman superfluous.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e18th century annals are full of accounts of wagers for the performance of various athletic feats. Professional pedestrians performed most of the more serious feats and amateurs were only occasionally involved, although they often took part in the more preposterous wagers.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eContests ranged from those lasting seconds or minutes, requiring great swiftness; those lasting one or more hours, demanding good wind and great agility; to matches of one or more often several days duration. Many of the more serious and most popular contests were feats of endurance and long distance matches against time.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThese contests usually only involved just one or two contestants, who were drawn from almost every class of society, including - army officers, country gentlemen, farmers, labourers, shepherds, butchers and those who were purely professional pedestrians.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThroughout the approximate period 1800-1825, many amateur athletes contested matches at Newmarket Racecourse, on the Uxbridge Road or at Lord’s Cricket Ground. These contests also attracted much interest from spectators. It is therefore difficult to understand why the codification and formalisation of athletics did not take place half a century earlier than it did.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter about 1850, the popularity of foot racing between gentlemen appears to have waned for some reason. However, with fewer amateurs involved, professional pedestrianism steadily continued to increase throughout most of the 19th century, despite periodic booms and troughs in its popularity.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe ‘Volunteer Force’ (forerunner of the Territorial Army) was formed in 1859, as a military reserve to support our always small regular army, in response to the threat of a possible invasion by France. The ‘Volunteer Force’ laid great stress on physical exercise for its civilian soldiers. This is often said to explain the outburst of athletic activity throughout the country around the mid-1800s. The more probable catalyst was the need for an outlet for the pressure resulting from the sedentary nature of modern commercial and professional life in the towns and cities.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, there is no doubt that the first amateur athletic sports were inspired by the performances of the professional pedestrians. Whenever there was a cluster of professional stars, as between 1845 and 1853, the amateurs were stimulated to imitate them. It is not surprising that the first cluster of regular and organised athletics meetings for adults were heard of at this time.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eAthletics Mid\u0026nbsp;1800s to WW1\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eAthletics at Public Schools and Oxbridge Colleges - mid 1800\u0027s\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom 1837, Eton College staged sprint hurdles races (usually 100yards over 10 flights); flat sprint races; and possibly their steeplechase. They were all run on different days. This is the first known written reference to hurdles races. By 1861 or so, all of the Public Schools were holding athletics sports.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOne autumn day in the 1850 Oxford University Michaelmas term, four or five Exeter College undergraduates, who had ridden horses in their college’s annual steeplechase, popularly known as the ‘College Grind’, enjoyed a convivial evening together discussing the day’s sport. One of them was a certain Halifax Wyatt whose horse had unfortunately landed into a road on its head instead of its legs.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eNo doubt fortified by ‘dutch courage’ after much drinking, Halifax Wyatt exclaimed “I’d run across two miles of country on foot”. “Well, why not?” his friends chorused – “Let’s have a ‘College Foot Grind’”. One of them even suggested a race or two on the flat as well, and so it was agreed. The conditions were drawn up, stakes named, officials appointed, and shortly afterwards the inaugural Exeter College annual athletics sports meeting, open to all Oxford undergraduates, was staged.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe first afternoon saw a 2-mile race across country with 24 jumps, held on a flat marshy farm at Binsey, near the Severn Bridge Road. It was very wet with some fields completely flooded. The next afternoon races were held in Port Meadow, on a field of unlevelled turf. There were open races over 100yds, 300yds, 400yds, Mile and 140yds Hurdles (10 flights, each 10yds apart); and closed races for Exeter College undergraduates only – over 60yds, 100yds and 150yds. Such was the first ever athletics meeting staged at a university college.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1851, Exeter College, Oxford, added the high jump and broad jump (long jump) in their summer meeting on Bullingdon. In 1855, St. John’s and Emmanuel were the first Cambridge colleges to hold similar meetings. By 1861, all Oxford colleges were staging meetings, and by 1863, all Cambridge colleges had followed suit.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe staging of similar athletics meetings spread like a forest fire. After the Public Schools and Oxbridge Colleges, clubs for adults outside of formal education were formed first in London and then in the provinces. By about 1852, the practice of devoting a day or afternoon to stage a meeting, for contests in the old English sports of running, jumping and throwing weights, was accepted as a recognised and reasonable form of sport.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, the sport had no championships, open competitions or team matches and progress towards such concepts was painfully slow. In many ways, athletics was still considered to be an activity primarily for schoolboys or, by a little stretch of the imagination, undergraduates or for those in the military for fitness purposes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eMid to late\u0026nbsp;1800\u0027s - the\u0026nbsp;emergence of adult amateur athletics\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt was a few years before we begin to hear of a class of adult amateur athletes (as opposed to professional ‘peds’) holding meetings of their own. During the intervening period and even well before that time, Britain\u0027s leading sporting newspaper: the ‘Bell’s Life in London, and Sporting Chronicle’ had occasionally reported amateurs matching themselves against the professionals, besides individual matches between amateurs. The day of the amateur was approaching. However, there was still at least one missing element needed before athletics meetings could be arranged in the adult world, outside of schools, universities and the military.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe missing element was probably the impetus given by a renewed surge of interest in professional pedestrianism in 1860s. An Amerindian Louis Bennett (b. 1825-30 – d. 9/1/1896), who was better known as ‘Deerfoot’, (\"Hut-goh-so-do-neh\" in his Seneca tribal language), visited England in 1861and began a thrilling series of matches against more than a score of the best English pedestrians.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis racing tour excited the public even more than the great pedestrian boom ten years earlier. The exploits of ‘Deerfoot’ set the public talking again about foot racing. In the winter of 1861, the West London Rowing Club held an athletics meeting at the West London Cricket Ground at Brompton, in west London, in the belief that their rowing men might enjoy some hard work and exercise to keep them in training during their off-season.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eProbably the first ‘open’ race for amateurs was held on July 26th 1862, when a ‘professional pedestrian’ handicap-promoter, Mr. W. Price, offered a ‘handsome silver cup’ for competition between amateurs at the Hackney Wick Grounds, thinking that this would prove a new attraction to potential spectators. Five weeks later, on August 30th, this event was repeated with prizes for two more handicap races over 440yards and 1320yards.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt was not until the next year that the stray London runners made any effort to form themselves into a club. In June 1863, several gentlemen, including some of those who had figured in the West London Rowing Club meetings and Mr. Price’s handicaps, founded the Mincing Lane Athletic Club.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt was so named because most of the founding members were engaged in business in the famous commodities trading centre of Mincing Lane in the City of London. This new club held its first athletics meeting at the West London Grounds at Brompton on April 9th 1864. In the spring of 1866, the club’s name was changed to London Athletic Club (LAC).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAmateur athletics as an institution may be said to date from 1864. Not only did a regularly constituted club start to hold open races in that year, but the same season saw the first Inter-Varsity Sports between Oxford and Cambridge; and the Civil Service Athletic Club was founded.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt was a year or two before amateur athletics was to take on the basic form of modern athletics. In 1865 several football and cricket clubs promoted meetings. However, it was not until 1866 that athletics might be said to be a generally practised sport throughout the whole country. ‘The Athlete’ magazine recorded nearly 100 meetings in England in 1867; and nearly 150 meetings in 1868.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBy this time the amateurs had decided to have nothing to do with the professional pedestrians of the day, owing to the ‘roping’ and ‘squaring’ and the betting rings, practised by many of the professionals who were more interested in fixing races for betting purposes and the resultant financial gain.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eFormation of the Amateur Athletic Club (AAC) -\u0026nbsp;1866, and the\u0026nbsp;Amateur Athletic Association (AAA) - 1880\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe second London club to be formed was the Amateur Athletic Club (AAC), which was founded in 1866, by some university graduates and London athletes. That club’s object was: “to supply the want of an established ground upon which competitions in amateur athletic sports might take place, and to afford as completely as possible to all classes of gentlemen amateurs the means of practising and competing against one another, without being compelled to mix with professional runners”.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom the start, the Amateur Athletic Club set out to promote championship meetings and held the first Amateur Championships (forerunner of the AAA Championships) in the spring of 1866. No doubt, the intention of the founders was to place their club in the same position that the MCC stood for cricketers. At first the idea seemed promising and the AAC acquired the Lillie Bridge Grounds in Fulham. In 1868, the AAC opened this splendid running ground for amateurs and it immediately became the headquarters for amateur athletics.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, most active athletes continued to ally themselves more with the London AC, rather than with the AAC, and the latter club soon ceased to hold any meetings other than the ‘Amateur Championships’. In 1879 the situation came to a head when two separate ‘Amateur Championships’ were staged, the first by the AAC and the second by the LAC.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1880 the Championships were taken over by the Amateur Athletic Association (AAA), after the formation of that governing body. The series of annual track and field Championships has continued unbroken from 1866 up to the present day, except during the two World Wars.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eEarly cross country development -\u0026nbsp;paper-chases and steeplechases\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe developments on the track were soon followed by almost parallel developments over the country in the form of paper-chases and steeplechases.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn paper-chases derived from the schoolboy sport of ‘hares and hounds’, the ‘hares’ (usually two more experienced runners) laid a paper-trail course of their own choice. All the other runners, called \u0027hounds\u0027 followed the ‘scent’ (paper trail) with the object of catching the ‘hares’. The ‘hares’ starting some minutes before the ‘hounds’ were allowed to mislead the ‘hounds’, and gain additional time, by laying false trails in addition to the true trail.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis early form of organised cross country running is said to be rooted in the Rugby School ‘Crick’, ‘Barby’ and ‘Bilton’ runs which date from about 1837, the year the young Queen Victoria came to the throne.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 9-mile ‘Barby’ run out to the nearby \u0027Barby\u0027 village church and back, by different routes each time it was run, is described in Thomas Hughes’ classic part-autobiographical novel ‘Tom Brown’s School Days’ first published in 1857.. It records that the ‘hares’ were given six minutes ‘grace’ (start ahead of the ‘hounds’) and all ‘hounds’ that finished the run within fifteen minutes of the ‘hares’ were considered to have completed the run successfully.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, there is evidence that another Public School in the Midlands, Shrewsbury School, started holding similar races on a regular basis at an even earlier date. The runs at Shrewsbury School were held twice-weekly during the autumn term, amid great ceremony. A huntsman in a black cap, a scarlet jersey and long socks, set the pace. Most of the chasing runners ran coatless, although many carried heavy sticks to ward off the feckless town ruffians, who regularly stoned the runners. That school\u0027s CC Club, known as \"The Royal Shrewsbury School Hunt\" (RSSH) has the distinction of being the oldest CC (cross country) Club in the World, with hand-written records known as \u0027Hound Books\u0027 going back to 1831 and there are accounts elsewhere that the sport was established at Shrewsbury School by 1819.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDr. Benjamin Hall Kennedy (b. 6/11/1804 – d. 6/4/1889) was the Principal (Headmaster) of Shrewsbury School from 1836 until 1866 and the writer of a number of Classics\u0027 textbooks, including the two most famous textbooks: Latin Primer and Latin Grammar. He was also prominent in the establishment of the Cambridge all-women colleges: Girton and Newnham in 1869 \u0026 1871 respectively.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eProfessor Roger Robinson, who ran for Guildford \u0026 Godalming AC and Cambridge University, and who is now resident in New Zealand and the USA, spent a week in 1998 in Shrewsbury. Whilst there, he did his best to trace and run the old original CC courses: \u0027The Bog\u0027, \u0027The Drayton\u0027, \u0027The Tucks\u0027, and the 14-mile \u0027The Long\u0027, He also managed to locate landmarks cited in the \u0027Hound Books\u0027 like the Severn River, the little grass-clogged Berwick Brook, Coton Hill, \u0027Sundome Farm\u0027, \u0027Battlefield\u0027 (where Henry IV retained his kingdom in 1403) and the tiny communities of Hencott and Atcham.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe sport of \u0027Hare and Hounds’ (also known as ‘hunt the fox’ or ‘hunt the hare’) as an informal amusement for schoolboys, goes back centuries, at least since the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. It is probably as old as any athletic activity in England. The runs of Shrewsbury School and Rugby School would seem to be a development of this old schoolboy game, although on a more organised and formalised basis, with school prefects overseeing adherence to the rules.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn steeplechases, derived from Horse Racing, the runners followed a more predetermined course between known points such as churches, old trees or hills. If necessary, such courses might be marked by a paper trail to assist the runners.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe idea of Cross Country runs spread from Shrewsbury School and Rugby School to Marlborough College and other Public Schools and in due course Cross Country clubs were formed by ‘old boys’ (former pupils) of such schools.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe popularity of a few steeplechases arranged by some members of Thames Rowing Club in the winter of 1867-68 led to their founding the first adult club for cross country running in the following winter. This was the Thames Hare and Hounds whose opening event was a paper chase on October 17th 1868, from the King’s Head, Roehampton, which remained their headquarters until the summer of 1975 when the old stable block used for changing, etc., was gutted by fire, and the brewers wouldn\u0027t reinstate the building.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eHarrier Clubs\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDuring the next few years many paper-chase packs were started round London. Most of them were not formal clubs and few survived long, after their founder’s initial enthusiasm had waned.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOne of the successful few was started at Peckham Rye, where the Peckham Hare and Hounds held its first official paper chase in October 1869, from their first headquarters at the ‘King’s Arms’. That club soon changed its name to Peckham Amateur Athletic Club (PAAC). After nine years in Peckham Rye, at the ‘King’s Arms’ and then the ‘Rye House’, the club moved to the ‘Green Man’, Blackheath, With that move came the change of name to the Blackheath Harriers.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe Clubs called ‘Harrier Clubs’ were organising paper-chases and steeplechases from the late 1860s. Some of these clubs confined themselves to such forms of athletics. Although Thames Hare \u0026 Hounds did promote a few open track meetings in their earliest days, they soon confined themselves to the cross country forms of athletics.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, some of the ‘Harrier clubs’ were equally active in track and field athletics and arranged members contests and open meetings on the track, then more usually known as ‘the path’. Of such clubs that have survived to the present day, Peckham AAC (Blackheath H.) and South London Harriers were the first and second clubs to be active in both track \u0026 field and cross country. South London Harriers did this from its first few months of existence. No doubt, this was at least partly due to the fact that several of its earliest members were ex-members of Peckham AAC (Blackheath H.)\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eTransformation of sports in the mid-19th century\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe mid-19th century saw a transformation of most sports. There were some key changes\u0026nbsp;around that time\u0026nbsp;that gradually allowed many people the opportunity to devote more time and money to leisure, albeit in much more modest ways compared with the late-20th century.\u0026nbsp;The\u0026nbsp;catalysts for this transformation were as follows:\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ea) Public schools\u003c/strong\u003e.\u0026nbsp;The increasing acceptance of sport as a vital and integral part of the curriculum and ethos of the ‘Public Schools’ set in motion the shaping of modern sport by former pupils of such schools who, after coming down from Oxford and Cambridge Universities, would spread the gospel of organised sport with missionary zeal in industrial towns and cities. They were largely responsible for the formal codification of the rules and the founding of many national governing bodies to administer the many forms of modern sport which followed.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eb) \u003c/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Press\u003c/strong\u003e.\u0026nbsp;The changes that\u0026nbsp;enabled rapid newsgathering and economic production of newspapers in unlimited numbers. The Press was then able to fan the people’s taste for sporting diversions by advertising and reporting sporting events.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cul\u003e\u003cli\u003eThe abolition of three of the ‘taxes on knowledge’, which had been imposed during the 18th century. The tax on advertisements; the stamp duty on newspapers; and the tax on newsprint; were abolished one by one in the years of 1853, 1855 and 1861, respectively\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eThe invention of the electric recording telegraph,\u003c/li\u003e\u003cli\u003eModern methods of printing that changed the craft of printing, introduced into Europe in 1440 by the German goldsmith and inventor of \u0027printer\u0027s ink\u0027 (actually a varnish not an ink) Johannes Gutenberg with his \u0027moveable wooden (and later metal) type\u0027 press, into the industry of printing by Friedrich Gottlob König\u0027s 1814 steam press, which produced 1,100 sheets per hour in 1814. This was vastly improved to the 20,000 sheets per hour produced by Richard March Hoe\u0027s high speed printing press invented in 1858. His 1871 stereotype rotary press printed 18,000 8-page newspapers an hour and his 1875 4-page wide supplement press printed 24,000 12-page newspapers per hour. By 1884, such presses combined with the watchmaker Ottmar Mergenthaler\u0027s Linotype machine enabled very fast setting of type, and the use of cheap wood pulp for newsprint, which allowed low cost printing of thousands of sheets a day.\u003c/li\u003e\u003c/ul\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ec) \u003c/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe growth of a national railway network\u003c/strong\u003e, allowed speedy travel at reasonable and affordable prices. It also enabled organised sport to function on a national basis and greatly assisted the spread of interest in sport by rapidly carrying national newspapers, in great numbers, to all parts of the country.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ed) The need for an outlet \u003c/strong\u003eto release the pressure built up by the sedentary nature of modern commercial and professional life in the towns and cities.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ee) Reforms to working hours and conditions\u003c/strong\u003e.\u0026nbsp;The introduction of comparatively shorter working hours and changes in the rhythms of work resulting from changes in, and reforms of, society which led to an ever increasing exodus from the land to an ever more urban society.\u0026nbsp;Increased salaries/wages, due to an expanding world economy from 1850.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eHandicap races\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur first was staged on July 26th 1902 at Crystal Palace against the Racing Club de France, which continued on an annual exchange basis until 1914. Other than a few Championships, track competitions had previously been virtually confined to \u0027Open\u0027 events, mostly comprising handicaps, although there had been a few Individual Challenge matches.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHandicaps were designed to result in the closest possible, and therefore most exciting, finish. There have been at least four different methods:-\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e1) Yacht – Used for the walks and cross country. Athletes started at intervals in time, as in our current Boxing Day CC Handicap.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e2) Staggered – Used for track racing. Runners started at the same time but at different points on the track to reflect their estimated form.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e3) Sealed – Results are calculated after the race or field event on the basis of notional time/distance/height advantages. This should still be the theory behind our usual CC handicaps these days, although the actual handicaps now tend to be broadcast shortly before the race on the day rather than \u0027sealed\u0027 (i.e., not broadcast), which the custom used to be).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e4) Horse Racing – Used occasionally in the very earliest days, by wearing a belt with different weights. This was not a very practical method for handicapping humans.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eAthletics Post-WW1\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ePost-WW1:\u0026nbsp;expansion of athletics and\u0026nbsp;the first women\u0027s clubs\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter World War I, the \u0027umbilical cords\u0027 with our three main pre-war tracks gradually weakened as we seemed to become even more nomadic. Often our coaches\u0027 preferences were a significant factor in our choice of the ever increasing number of new tracks springing up in the 1920s and 1930s.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eIntroduction of T\u0026F under-19 championships and state school athletics\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis was a time of great expansion for athletics and especially the involvement of women, although most belonged to \u0027women only\u0027 clubs. Even more importantly for both sexes, it saw the introduction of events and track \u0026 field Championships for the \u0027Under Men\u0027s \u0026 Women\u0027s Under19 year old\u0027 age groups and the introduction of athletics into all state schools.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSLH post-WW1\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u0027Billy\u0027 Holt, our Hon. Secretary., and a Lloyds Bank Manager was the driving force during much of this period and was mainly responsible for cornering the market in athletes working in the London banks. This explains why the Lloyds Bank and Westminster Bank grounds, at New Beckenham and Norbury, respectively, featured in our activities. This period also saw a great increase in the number and standard of SLH field event athletes. At this time, we used the noted track coach, Guy Butler, and the great field events coach Capt. F.A.M. Webster, who had been a close pre-war friend of our Alfred Flaxman.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1929, SLH were the main instigators of the original Southern Men\u0027s T\u0026F League. At first there was only one division, comprising: SLH, Polytechnic Harriers, Belgrave H, Surrey AC, HHH and Highgate Harriers. Events were in the form of level relay and team races in the hope of discouraging \u0027open\u0027 handicaps, which unfortunately lingered on until the 1960s.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1930, the league added the discus \u0026 javelin and second \u0026 third divisions were formed. A system of promotion \u0026 relegation was introduced, which saw Southgate H., replace Surrey AC in the top division at the end of the season.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1931 SLH were clear Southern Men\u0027s T\u0026F League Champions with Polytechnic H., and Belgrave H., second \u0026 third. Amongst those competing for us in the league were Jack Stubbs, \u0027Seppy\u0027 Edenborough and Frank Humphris.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBy 1932 most of the jumps and other throws had been added to the programme. Charles Reidy (an alumnus of Stonyhurst College) was the first AAA Junior Shot Champion in 1931 and featured for SLH in this league which prospered until hostilities began in September 1939. Charles Reidy played in the 1937 Rugby Union International for Ireland against Wales. He was in the 2nd row with the famous R.B. \u0027Paddy\u0027 Mayne, DSO \u0026 3 Bars, a founder of the SAS in WWII, who played in the 3 tests on the 1938 British Lions tour of South Africa. Charles Reidy became an outstanding post-war hammer thrower. He still holds the SLH Club Hammer record: 51.20m set in 1952.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1938 we hired the great Austrian freelance professional athletics coach \u0026 skiing instructor, Franz Stampfl, as our main Coach until he was interned. He returned in 1951 and remained our main coach until July 1955.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Combined Clubs \u0027TCC\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThanks to a few veterans and some brilliant \u0027Junior Men\u0027, we maintained a token track presence during World War II. London AC, SLH and Blackheath H., banded together as \u0027The Combined Clubs\u0027 (TCC) although SLH were never able to field more than five members in any of the few \u0027TCC\u0027 fixtures, which steadily decreased from 1940 to 1942, as members were increasingly conscripted into the armed forces.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eSLH Juniors\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eExcluding Jack Stubbs\u0027 race against the Royal Navy in the solitary 1943 \u0027TCC\u0027 fixture, our track presence was left to our \u0027Under 19 Junior Men\u0027 who competed as the \u0027SLH Juniors\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSouthern Junior (Under 19) Championships were won in 1943 by VP John Peckham 100yds and Life Member Doug Adair 220yds; and VP Alan Grieve won the 100yds title in 1944 [10.1s] and 1945. SLH won the 1943 \u0026 1944 4 x 110yds Relay titles.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eSLH post-WW2\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter World War II, our track teams, including the abovementioned sprinters, other sprinters, hurdlers, middle/long distance track runners and several outstanding jumpers and throwers, and their successors, under our dynamic Track Captain, \u0027Bert\u0027 Liffen, were a force at national level until the early 1960s.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis was the \u0027heyday\u0027 of the Trophy Meetings. Our greatest post-war track achievement was finishing 2nd equal in the 1957 \u0027Kinnaird\u0027 Trophy meeting, in \u0027Bert\u0027 Liffen\u0027s eleventh and last season as our Track Captain.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe Kinnaird (Senior men) Trophy meeting was on a par with the present day \u0027BAL\u0027 (British Men\u0027s T\u0026F League). Similarly, the \u0027Waddilove\u0027 (Senior men) Trophy and \u0027Grenville\u0027 (U19 men) Trophy Joint Meeting with usually twelve clubs competing at the Birchfield Harriers old Perry Barr Stadium cinder track, in Birmingham (not far from its \u0027all-weather\u0027 track replacement from 1976: Alexander Stadium), were other prestigious meetings to which we were regularly invited.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eComplementing the Trophy Meetings were inter-club matches, usually on mid-week evenings. In a summer season an elite athlete could easily compete in as many as 13 of the former and 16 of the latter, besides various Championships from club to national level and numerous representative matches, especially if one was also in the Armed Services on National Service.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor most of the immediate post-war period, Tooting Bec track was the only floodlit track in London. It was eerily lit by ex-army surplus hurricane-type lamps. They hissed loudly when alight and were sited at intervals on the infield grass by the track curb. Tooting was so popular and it became so crowded all year round that many of our field event athletes were forced to use various Bank grounds for specialised training and coaching.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAnother professional SLH Club coach, J. B. Robertson, coached members at the Barclays Bank Ground in Norbury in 1948-49. In 1948, SLH coaches boycotted Tooting Bec track, due to the overcrowding. In the 1950s, there was a long-running \u0027cause célèbre\u0027 in the athletic \u0026 national press after hammer throwing practice was banned at the Battersea Park track.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFollowing the successful trial of a limited British Men\u0027s Athletics League in 1968, the Southern Men\u0027s T\u0026F League was revived in a new and expanded form in 1969, after a thirty year absence. The Tooting Bec Cinder-track had gradually deteriorated over the years and when needed to host Southern Men\u0027s League fixtures, it was found wanting on several points such as width and number of lanes, etc. This explains our use of other venues for some meetings until the track was enlarged and an \u0027all-weather\u0027 surface was laid at Tooting in August 1985.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e1970s onwards\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom 1973, the important influence of our past President, Mick Mein, on our track \u0026 field activities increased. In 1975 \u0026 1976, we competed in the Young Athletes (Male) League but were unable to sustain our involvement any further at the time.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWe ran a Southern Men\u0027s League \u0027B\u0027 team for 12 years (1981-1992) before dropping it due to insufficient technical officials and helpers to cover both teams. Our Women\u0027s section, formed in 1982, joined the Rosenheim (Wednesday Evenings – open to both sexes) and the Southern Women\u0027s T\u0026F Leagues and the GRE Jubilee Cup (Sundays) in 1983.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThroughout our history, many of our active athletes have been unable to train at our track bases due to being away at university, in the Armed Forces on national service, or most often just living too far away. This was not a problem as, until comparatively recently, most of our active athletes were adults and the minority were shortly to leave school.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThey had all been coached in at least the basics of most sports at school. The coaching most members required was more advisory and more in the nature of the \u0027Oxbridge-type\u0027 university tutorial with the emphasis on discussion, although it will always be necessary for very experienced on-lookers to check technique, including on film, and then draw attention to any apparent problems, etc.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAs sport in many state schools gradually became more marginalised or almost disappeared completely, youngsters looked to sports clubs to fill the vacuum. However, we were less accustomed to providing basic coaching than some other athletics clubs, which had had a sizeable element of young teenagers for a longer time than SLH.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHercules AC (which had plenty of athletes) had been based at Tooting Bec track before merging with Wimbledon AC (which had plenty of technical officials) in 1967. Many members of the merged club still trained at Tooting, rather than Wimbledon Park. By the late 1980s, SLH was struggling rather unsuccessfully to hold our own in recruiting track members in the face of strong competition from the long-time resident Herne Hill Harriers and also Hercules Wimbledon AC, which had increased its presence at Tooting Bec, after its conversion to an \u0027all-weather\u0027 track in August 1985. Both of our rivals had stronger basic-coaching set-ups than SLH at that time.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1991, we re-joined the Young Athletes (Male) League thanks to Paul Mongan\u0027s efforts. Also in 1991, we were offered the opportunity to become the sole athletics club based at the Crystal Palace National Sports Centre. We seized the opportunity and our coaching organisation increased significantly thanks to the efforts of our Crystal Palace Coaching Co-ordinator, Phil Hartnett, and his able lieutenants. They had worked wonders in a comparatively short time so that we were strong enough to join the Young Athletes (Female) League in 1996.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eSLH venues over time\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCompared with some other London Clubs, SLH has always had a wide membership catchment area with active athletes living not only in south London but also north of the Thames and in all parts of London towards what is now the M25 motorway and beyond. Until relatively recently, most of our active athletes worked in Central London, in the City and the West End. Many would often do track training or mid-week Evening meetings at our tracks on the way home.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDespite our cross country courses and HQs having been in the Croydon postal areas since October 1891, most of our middle and long distance runners lived in such areas as Clapham, Balham, Tooting, Streatham, and Crystal Palace in what may be termed \u0027Inner-South London\u0027 and many of our sprinters and field events athletes lived in or near areas in the northerly Croydon postal areas. Both groups would also train in each other\u0027s areas.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHowever, in the last forty to fifty years a gradual polarisation has developed whereby most of our sprinters and field athletes have tended to live in \u0027Inner-South London\u0027 and most of middle \u0026 long-distance athletes have gravitated to the areas towards, around and beyond Coulsdon. A \u0027never the twain shall meet\u0027, on the training ground, situation has gradually developed to some extent.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur track bases have remained predominantly in \u0027inner London, both north and south of the Thames. Since our first track meeting, which we held on Saturday, August 27th 1872, at the Belair Estate of Mr. C.W.C. Hutton [SLH President 1873-74] in Gallery Road, Dulwich, we have used 45 different venues for staging track and field meetings and training with a coach present.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUnfortunately, SLH Club records are mostly silent on the subject of our track training and venues until our Gazette was first published in January 1885, only six months after we took a 7-year lease on the track and grounds and Club \u0027shanty-hut\u0027 at Oldridge Road, Balham. From 1885, the picture is generally clearer although the exact situation regarding our summer training and the level of usage by our members is often unclear.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAll known venues used for track \u0026 field meetings and/or training are listed below. \u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eBelair Estate\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e, \u003c/strong\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eGallery Road, Dulwich, SE21\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) Inaugural SLH Track Meeting, August 24.th 1872.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eBarry Road and Friern Road (Barry Estate, Peckham Rye)\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eMy research outside SLH Club records shows that our next promotion was an SLH 440 yards handicap, with three heats and a final, held on October 10th 1872 along Barry Road close to our first CC HQ, at the \u0027Vivien Hotel\u0027, Peckham Rye. This was repeated in April 1873, but with 100yds, 440yds, and 880yds handicaps. In January 1874, the parallel adjoining Friern Road was used for 150yds handicap and 880yds level races.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe Barry and Friern Roads were part of the large Barry Estate. Although new at the time, they were not modern metal roads but little more than brick dust paths. However, like the Barry and Friern Roads of today, they were both quite straight, ran close to and parallel with each other and were both about three quarters of a mile long, linking Lordship Lane and Peckham Rye Road. Albert AAC used these roads to form a lap for longer races. These paths were used for other similar SLH low key events and track running in our earliest years. Even just into the 20th Century, all cinder tracks were usually referred to as \u0027paths\u0027. Perhaps this was because many of the earliest tracks were only three or possibly four lanes wide.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eBrown\u0027s Cricket Ground, Nunhead\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe nearby Brown\u0027s Cricket Ground was the venue for SLH members\u0027 handicap races at 880yds and 120yds on July 2nd 1874.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eContrary to popular belief, we were active in field events from our very beginning. At two meetings in one week in June 1872, we won the pole vault and had the first three in the long jump in one meeting, and won the high jump and had the first four in the long jump in the next meeting besides our usual successes in the sprints and longer track races. We even had a hammer thrower in our first summer season.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eCrystal Palace Park, SE19.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass in the Park) SLH Boxing-Day Open Meeting, December 26th 1883.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eCroydon Rugby Ground,Whitehorse Road, West Croydon,\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) This venue was used on April 16th 1898 when we staged the SLH Spring Open Mtg, when the Oval Cricket Ground was being upgraded.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eBeckenham Cricket Ground,19 Foxgrove Road, Beckenham, BR3 5AS\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) Used for our 9th match versus Racing Club de France, July 1910\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eSutton Adult School Athletic Ground,Gander Green Lane, SM3.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) Used for our 13th \u0026 last match versus Racing Club de France, May 1914\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eBennett\u0027s Field, Queen\u0027s Road, Peckham\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis was regularly used to stage athletics meetings by various bodies in the 1870s and we may have held meetings on that grass track.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eKennington Oval\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) This was the venue for the regular September Open Meeting (1875-77, 1880-1913 \u0026 1925-27) \u0026 for the regular April Open Meeting (1889-97, \u0026 1899-1914).\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWhat is certain is that we staged our first Kennington Oval \u0027SLH Open Meeting\u0027 in September 1875, followed by similar meetings in the next two years before the 1878 and 1879 events were cancelled due to financial constraints. It is not clear whether the event took place in 1880-82, but thereafter these annual promotions went from success to success and developed into two similar meetings each spring and autumn from 1889 until World War I. Several world records were broken at these events. 1904 saw the high tide of these nationally famous Saturday afternoon meetings with record April and September attendances of over 18,000 and 20,000 respectively, in Alfred Shrubb\u0027s farewell season.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eLillie Bridge, Seagrave Road, Fulham, SW6.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Cinder) This stadium was less than 300 yards north-west of the Stamford Bridge stadium.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eLillie Bridge was used in 1884 for four Evening Meetings and on July 5th for the first SLH International Meeting.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn September 1887, a match between two professional sprinters had been arranged. Both rival gangs of supporters wanted their man to lose for betting purposes. In the event, neither sprinter turned up, so a riot ensued with the angry crowd setting the stadium ablaze. Unfortunately, it burnt down never to rise again.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eRichmond Rugby Ground,The Athletic Ground, Kew Foot Road, TW9,\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Grass) Used for one of our Evening Meetings in the three years (1922-24) to cover some SLH Club Championships\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eDuke of York\u0027s Barracks,King\u0027s Road, SW3.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Cinder – 5 laps to a mile) Used twice for a main SLH Club Championships Saturday Day (July 1932 \u0026 Sept 1934)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eGrove Park,City of London College Ground, 147 Marvels Lane, SE12 9PP\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Cinder) This venue was used for 6 matches, when SLH competed as part of \u0027The Combined Clubs\u0027 team in 1940.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eCharlton Park, SE7\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Cinder) This venue was used for two SLH Evening Meetings (1946).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eWimbledon Park,Home Park Road, SW19\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(Cinder) Used for a fixture each year (1953-54 \u0026 57), \u0026 for hosting our Southern Men\u0027s fixtures (1974-81) \u0026 our Rosenheim League home match in 1977.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(All-weather, 6-lane with an 8-lane straight) Used for our home Southern Men\u0027s Lge match (2012)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eNorman Park,Hayes Lane, Bromley, BR2.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUsed \u0027in extremis\u0027 for 1983 SLH Club Championship \u0026 a Young Athletes (Girls) League match (May 1996)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eTwo hours after the match start, we were informed that SLH were the hosts.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eKingsmeadow, Norbiton, KT1\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThis \u0027all-weather\u0027 track venue was used to \u0027co-host\u0027 a Southern Men\u0027s League fixture in the2010s. The previous \u0027cinder\u0027 track was replaced by the current \u0027all-weather\u0027 track, in which the previous back straight has become the start/finish straight, so that the steeplechase water jump is in the non-standard position: \u0027shortly after the new start/finish\u0027.. Prior to that conversion, this venue was known as the \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027Norbiton\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e track, as it is much nearer Norbiton Railway Station than it is to Kingston Station. The name \u0027Kingsmeadow\u0027 was borrowed from the \u0027Kingstonian FC\u0027 next-door ground\u0027s name, where AFC Wimbledon also now play soccer after vacating their Plough Lane ground.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eHyde Farm, Balham [Grass Track]\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSited opposite the Balham-Crystal Palace railway line and Tooting Bec Common, was used at least for training in the 1890s, before and after we moved our CC HQ to south Croydon, in October 1891. Our Club Gazette in 1892 drew members\u0027 attention to the Hyde Farm track for mid-week training purposes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eOldridge Road, Balham\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe SLH Grounds and Clubhouse at Oldridge Road, Balham, a short walk north from Balham railway station, was convenient although the track, 320yds round and 5½ laps to the mile with tennis grass courts in the middle, had its limitations. The hope of a long period of stability at one main venue disappeared after our lease ran out and could not be renewed due to impending building plans.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eStamford Bridge, Herne Hill and Crystal Palace\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe AAA Championships venue for many years. For the twenty three years, from 1892 until 1914, we tended to switch backwards and forwards between Stamford Bridge, Herne Hill and Crystal Palace. The choice of venue was most often based on the quality of facilities available and the discounted terms that we could obtain for track hire and railway travel, at the time. In those days, sprinters were attracted to Stamford Bridge because one of its straights had an extension to allow a straight 250yds on the railway side of the ground. However, Crystal Palace was considered the fastest cinder track surface in London.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn this period, our field events\u0027 stalwart, Alfred Edward Flaxman, won the 1909 AAA Pole Vault and 1910 AAA Hammer Championships before he and three other SLH men fell on the first day of the Somme, July 1st 1916, He was a fine all-round field events athlete, despite lacking height and weight at only 5ft 9ins and 150 lbs, who lived in Baker Street. When throwing the hammer, he used four turns and regularly threw more than a foot for every pound of his weight, which is exceptional and was due to his superb technique and strength, pound for pound.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eTooting Bec track\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor most of the immediate post-war period, Tooting Bec track was the only floodlit track in London.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eWhite City Stadium\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe prestigious White City Stadium after refurbishment was difficult to resist in 1933. However, high costs and restricted hours for athletics training due to other activities at the stadium, such as Greyhound racing, Professional Boxing \u0026 Equestrian Show Jumping\u0027, and its location north of Shepherd\u0027s Bush, pointed us in other directions at the end 1934.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe London University track at Motspur Park\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe London University track at Motspur Park had the finest facilities. We flirted with that venue before and after World War II, but it was always rather outside our normal area of summer home activities. So in 1937 we turned to the new Tooting Bec track and staged the inaugural club match held there. It was to remain our main track base until 1991.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSLH Grounds, Oldridge Road, Balham, SW12\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCinder: 520 yard track [5½ laps to a mile] encircling tennis courts.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e1879 Club Handicap Mtg (440yd, 5 mile, 2 mile walk); \u0026 1884-1891\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eStamford Bridge, SW6\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCinder: 1892-95, 1902-04, 1912-23, 1925-30. NB. The ground also of Chelsea FC since 1904\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eHerne Hill Velodrome, SE24\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCinder track \u0026 cycle track. 1892-93, 1896-1901; 1906; 1910; 1922\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eCrystal Palace, Ledrington Road, SE19\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(cinder) 1902-03; 1905-11; 1925-30.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(All-weather) 1984-85 (training); 1991-2014 (training)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e1991-199. (competitions)\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eSutton Arena, Middleton Road, Carshalton, SM5\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(All-weather) This venue has been used to host a Southern Men\u0027s League Fixture in 2012, as well as some recent Club Championships. The previous \u0027cinder\u0027 track was called \u0027Carshalton\u0027 Track but when the current \u0027all-weather\u0027 track was laid, it was turned through 190 degrees and renamed Sutton Arena, as the Borough of Sutton provided the finance involved.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eTrack Coulsdon, Woodcote High School, Meadow Rise, Coulsdon, CR5\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e(All-weather) It was officially opened in July 2013.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe inexorable spread of London\u0027s suburbs due to the Capital\u0027s rapid expansion between 1816 and 1910, with three main building booms: 1816-1826, 1868-1880, and 1900-1910, forced us to move our cross country (CC) bases to more suitable running country.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003ePeckham Rye\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e: \u003c/strong\u003eUntil October 1877, we had four CC HQs all within a stone\u0027s throw of each other in Peckham Rye\u003cstrong\u003e.\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1871, although the railway network of main- and suburban-lines was widespread, there were no petrol- or diesel-driven motor-vehicles or deep-tube-lines. However, it was an exciting time, when our sport was in its formalised infancy. There was also little housing in the vicinity to the south of Peckham Rye, when our races started and finished on \u0027The Rye\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe early CC\u0026nbsp;HQs\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDuring most of our Club\u0027s earliest 40-odd years, we usually only paid \u0027wet-rent\u0027, for our changing facilities, etc., at hotel CC HQs on Saturday afternoons and Bank Holidays, i.e., at no cost, if we agreed that our members and guests agreed to take our post-race and post-training run \u0027refreshments\u0027 and \u0027sit-down hot high-teas\u0027 (that Walter Henry Brooker called: \"after-the-run knife-and-fork teas\") and suppers \u0027in-house\u0027 at the \u0027Hotel/Inn\u0027 that we were using as our CC HQ at the time. In those days after eating, members and friends would gather round the log-fire and each person would sing a song, recite a poem or tell a story. The Saturday evenings were long and merry ones, usually closing with the Publican\u0027s words: \"Time, gentlemen, please – time\".\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOver 60 years later, W.H. Brooker (SLH President 1909 – 10) who had two spells in SLH (July 1873 – November 1879 and from 1886 to October 1945, when he died aged 90), described the facilities, which SLH used for washing after races or training on cold winter Saturday afternoons in the early days. At Peckham Rye, runners took off the worst of the mud in a pail or footbath of warm water before using a sponge or sit-bath to finish off. The water was none too plentiful and more often than not was soon quite cold At the \u0027Greyhound\u0027 at Streatham Common, from 1877, changing was done in a draughty stable and the showers were a couple of pails of cold water thrown over each \u0027victim\u0027 by a burly Club trainer.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe exact reason for siting our first CC HQs in the Peckham Rye area is not absolutely clear. However, it was little more than 10 minutes by train from London Bridge station and \u0027The City\u0027 where most of our members probably worked. Also, the fact that several of our early members, including our first Hon. Secretary, had joined us from Peckham AAC (later known as Blackheath Harriers) was probably a major factor.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere was an informal agreement between the two clubs, whereby, for training \u0026 racing purposes, we tended to use the area south-west towards Dulwich and Peckham AAC to use the area south-east towards Brockley and Honor Oak Park via Nunhead. In those days, many athletes belonged to two clubs. Clubs with close connections usually arranged their CC races or training runs on a fortnightly basis so that members of the two clubs could run with the two clubs on alternate Saturdays.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 2 years 1871-1874, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Vivian Hotel\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e at 34 Philip Road, sited on the south-side of Philip Road, a side-street off the east-side of Peckham Rye Road. Unfortunately, the hotel disappeared in a 1946/47 area redevelopment. Philip Road still exists although it is now called Philip Walk.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor two years 1874-1876, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003eThe Heaton Arms\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e at 249 Rye Lane, on the corner of Heaton Road and Peckham Rye Road. Unfortunately, it was recently demolished to allow the building of some flats.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor three months in 1876-1877, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The King\u0027s Arms\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e at 132 Peckham Rye Road, on the north-west corner of the junction of East Dulwich Road and the Peckham Rye Road. This was Peckham AAC\u0027s first CC HQ., .for a few years from 1869. Unfortunately, it was completely demolished by WW II bombing. After the war, the present hotel was built on the site.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 8 months in 1877, SLH used the \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027Lime Villa Clubhouse.\u003c/strong\u003e This was a small one-storey detached building in Nigel Road (a side-street off the west-side of the Peckham Rye Road) next door but behind \"The Old White Horse\" Hotel at 20-22 Peckham Rye Road. Both buildings seem to have survived to this day.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eStreatham Common:-\u003c/strong\u003eFor four years, October 1877-1881, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Greyhound\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e, Streatham Common, as our CC HQ. The present hotel, although set back a little, stands opposite the common (where we staged our CC races) on the corner of Streatham High Road and the north-side of Greyhound Lane. This has been the site of at least four different \u0027Inns\u0027 called \u0027The Greyhound\u0027, since the earliest record in the early 1700s, with new buildings in 1730, 1871, \u0026 1930. Streatham Common Railway Station, which is half-a-mile down Greyhound Lane, was known as Greyhound Lane Station when it opened on December 1st 1862. When there was a train crash very close to that station, The Times\u0027 newspaper reported that the incident occurred close to the \u0027Streatham Common Station\u0027. By 1870, the station had become officially known by that name, which is its current name.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eBalham:\u003c/strong\u003eFrom October 1881 until the late summer of 1884, when our CC HQ was based at \u0027The Bedford Arms\u0027, our CC Courses started 500m away on Dragmire Lane on the nearby Tooting Bec Common, by a railway bridge arch on the Balham to Crystal Palace railway line, where a Children\u0027s Play Area now stands. \u0027Dragmire Lane\u0027 was later renamed \u0027Cavendish Road\u0027. It is now a modern metalled road until it crosses Fernlea Road, after which it is reduced to a narrow pedestrian path on Tooting Bec Common. Our CC Courses went out as far as Mitcham via Tooting Bec Common, the adjacent Tooting Graveney Common, Rectory Lane, Amen Corner and Tooting Junction Railway Station and down \u0027Figges Marsh\u0027. The half-way point was on the corner of Sandy Lane, Mitcham.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe course returned home via what are now Streatham Lane and Mitcham Lane, before passing down Green Lane (which has been replaced by two modern metalled roads: Thrale Road and the short West Drive, after crossing Furzedown Road at that off-set junction). West Drive passes very close to the present Tooting Bec Athletics Track. After this our courses returned across Tooting Bec Common to the finish, which was between two tall trees some 10 to 11 ft (c. 3m or so) apart, very close to the race start point on Dragmire Lane.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom October 1884, our CC courses started in Ormeley Road, Balham before passing our old start point in Dragmire Lane. From December 1885, permission was withdrawn for running through the \u0027Furzedown Estate. This meant that we had to make changes to our CC courses to avoid that Estate. After passing the old start and leaving Tooting Bec Common and Tooting Graveney Common, our courses went down Church Lane (then known as \u0027Back Lane\u0027) rather than Rectory Lane, then continued past Amen Corner and Tooting Junction Railway Station before crossing \u0027Figges Marsh\u0027 and running up to the railway bridge in Mitcham Lane. After this the changed course bore right to run over several ploughed fields including some uphill to the top of Green Lane (now two roads: Thrale Road and West Drive) before running the last mile across Tooting Bec Common past the old start and to the finish in Ormeley Road.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor three years 1881-1884, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Bedford Arms\u0027,\u003c/strong\u003e 77 Bedford Hill, SW12, which stands at the bottom of Bedford Hill, on the corner of Fernlea Road. It is 200m or so from the Balham Railway \u0026 Underground Station entrance, and was less than 500m from the start \u0026 finish of our CC courses when they started in Dragmire Lane. This hotel was developed in the 1830s and has been recently renamed \u0027The Bedford\u0027. The SLH 75th Anniversary Dinner was held here in 1946, when it was still called \u0027The Bedford Arms\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 8 years 1884-1892, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The SLH Grounds\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e, for our CC HQ as well as our track \u0026 field HQ. In 1884, we took a 7-year lease on this site at £100 per annum. The grounds had a narrow 3- or 4-lane cinder running \u0027path\u0027 (track), 320 yards round (i.e. 5½ laps to a mile), that encircled four lawn tennis grass courts, on the south-side of Oldridge Road, Balham. This is a side-street on the west-side of Balham High Road, at the bottom of Balham Hill, and since the 1926 Northern tube Line extension from Clapham Common Station to Morden Station was completed, Oldridge Road is closer to Clapham South tube station than Balham station. The grounds were less than 1,200m from Tooting Bec Common.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1885, we started an SLH Lawn Tennis Division (Section) in which lady tennis players paid 10s 6d., for a Season Ticket if introduced by two SLH members. The courts were open for play from Monday May 4th, although the regular season did not appear to start until June 1st.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWe used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Grove\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e pub for changing, etc., whilst a wretched \u0026 unsuitable \u0026 inadequate \u0027shanty\u0027 hut in the grounds was replaced by a much more substantial and commodious SLH Clubhouse, with enlarged changing facilities, a Ladies Room \u0026 a large Clubroom. Much of the cost of the new building was borne by our most respected President, Richard Thornton, whose name is commemorated by the name of our SLH Club 10 mile CC Championship.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter our large new Clubhouse was completed, it allowed entertainment activities such as the first SLH Concert Evening on Wednesday December 16th 1885, from 6pm, at which ladies were present, to take place in our own premises. Other entertainments such as Boxing bouts, Tug-of-War contests, the ancient art of \u0027Indian Club Exercises\u0027 displays, and other sudorific exercises (that cause sweating) besides our traditional \u0027smoking concerts\u0027 were popular. On Tuesday March 2nd 1886, the inaugural SLH \u0027Cinderella\u0027 Dance (8pm to Midnight) was successfully staged and attended by almost 100 members and guests.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUnfortunately, despite some obvious limitations of the site, our hope for a long period of stability at one main venue for all of our activities disappeared after our short lease ran out and could not be renewed due to impending officially approved building development plans. The site is now a small dead-end \u0027T-shaped\u0027 side street named \u0027Lochinvar Street.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSouth Croydon:-\u003c/strong\u003eDuring our 21 year 1891-1913 sojourn near South Croydon Railway Station, at three CC headquarters on or just off the Selsdon Road, our CC races usually started \u0026 finished in the \u0027Croham Hurst\u0027 parkland area.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 5 years 1891-1897, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Croham Arms\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e, at no. 1 Croham Road, CR2, on the corner of Croham Road and Selsdon Road, about halfway between South Croydon Railway Station and \u0027The Swan \u0026 Sugar Loaf\u0027 and less than a mile from our Croham Hurst CC Course.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 11 years 1897-1908, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Swan \u0026 Sugar Loaf\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e, at no. 1 Brighton Road, South Croydon, CR2.This very well-known hotel was on the east-side of the A23 Brighton Road at the junction with Selsdon Road. It was only 300m north-west of \u0027The Croham Arms\u0027 and about a mile from our Croham Hurst CC course. Unfortunately, this building now houses a Tesco Express Store, which opened in November 2012. The site had had a \u0027Public House\u0027 there for almost 200 years. The present building was opened in 1896, when it replaced a much less prepossessing one-storey \u0027pub\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor 5 years 1908-1913, SLH used \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The SLH Pavilion\u0027\u003c/strong\u003e, an old Cricket or Tennis Pavilion in Carlton Road, a side-road off the south-side of Selsdon Road, less than 800m from our Croham Hurst CC Course. Houses now cover this site.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eCoulsdon:-\u003c/strong\u003eIn October 1913, we moved to another very well-known hostelry, \u003cstrong\u003e\u0027The Red Lion\u0027 Hotel\u003c/strong\u003e, sited on the east-side of the A23 Brighton Road opposite the junction with Chipstead Valley Road, at the very centre of the Coulsdon shopping area, When based at that hostelry, our CC races started \u0026 finished outside the hotel to run over nearby \u0027green belt\u0027 countryside, including \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027 (aka \u0027Fairdene Downs\u0027), Coulsdon Common \u0026 \u0027Happy Valley\u0027, etc.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere was a \u0027Red Lion\u0027 Inn indicated on the \u0027Bainbridge\u0027 Map of 1783. It was a \u0027Stage Coach Halt\u0027 when the first 2-horse-drawn Brighton Mail Coach 12-hr journey from London started on May 1st 1791. Unfortunately, this Inn was demolished in 2004, and has mostly been used for car-parking since then. The Supermarket\u0027 Aldi\u0027 chain is building a 2-storey store \u0026 a 48-space \u002790 minute\u0027 car park there After we transferred our CC HQ to our present hall, we continued to use the \u0027The Red Lion\u0027 for functions and even as late as the late 1950s, we still held the Blackheath \u0027mob match\u0027 supper there.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Coulsdon HQ\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn October 1919, the \u0027Red Lion\u0027 Hotel was not available to us, so we finally moved our CC HQ.100m or so south to our present site at \u003cstrong\u003e194a Brighton Road, Coulsdon,\u003c/strong\u003e when it was just a basic high-ceilinged church hall, erected in 1908, and named \u0027St. Andrews Hall\u0027, comprising the present badminton court area and the old main entrance lobby, which was demolished in the mid-1990s major alterations, and where the ground-floor \u0027disabled toilet\u0027 is now located. Until 1933, we rented the hall on Saturdays during the cross country season at some £25 each CC season. In those early years, tin-baths were used in what is now a cellar store.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1933, the Church decided to sell their Hall. At that time, the Comrades\u0027 Club owned and occupied a wooden hut on the land in front of the Hall and were also in the market for the whole site. Mrs. \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt alerted her husband to the availability of the freehold, which we purchased mainly through the efforts of \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u0027Billy\u0027 Holt, with his usual optimistic dash, to act first and think out ways \u0026 means afterwards, negotiated and secured on behalf of SLH an option to purchase the Hall at the price of £1,550. A Holding Company: SLH Ltd was formed to finance the purchase by the issue of 4% Debentures and the balance by Bank Overdraft. SLH Ltd was incorporated on September 9th 1933, with £100 of issued share capital all held by or on behalf of the Club. The original SLH Ltd directors included the key members: \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt (Chairman), \u0027Jack\u0027 Densham \u0026 Clifford Hughes (Company Secretary), amongst two or three others. Debentures totalling £1,307 were taken up \u0026 donations of £225 were received, which enabled our Club to acquire the freehold of the Hall for the sum of £1,588 including stamp duties \u0026 fees, besides spending £326 on necessary substantial alterations.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWe then renamed the Hall: \u0027Coulsdon Hall\u0027, and added two annexes to provide plunge-baths, \u0027gravity-fed\u0027 showers and a small changing area on the east-side of the hall, in the space directly behind the \u0027Comrades Club\u0027, and a kitchen, small lounge area, a ladies room and a toilet area on the south-side. For many years, \u0027sit-down\u0027 high-teas were the order of the day, after Saturday training runs and races. The plunge-baths disappeared in late 1956, when that area on the east-side was refurbished and the dynamic Asst. Secretary, David Smith, arranged for an \u0027Ascot\u0027 gas-heater to be installed to make mid-week evening showering possible. Before late 1956, hot water for baths and later \u0027gravity-fed\u0027 showers was only possible on Saturdays when the hall was open, when the coke-fired boiler was tended by the old \u0027geordie\u0027 ex-coal miner who looked after it for many years. Over the years, various extensions, improvements \u0026 renovations have been made.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe main-hall area has been used for badminton, since the 1930s, initially informally by SLH club members, later also by the \u0027Coulsdon \u0026 Purley\u0027 Badminton Club and small daytime-groups of housewives. From 1971 our current SLH Badminton Section filled the gap when the \u0027Coulsdon \u0026 Purley\u0027 B. C., came into a sizeable sum of money and moved to larger premises, near the A237 and A2022 roads near Purley, before moving to the South Croydon Sports Club, Beech Copse, South Croydon, CR2. Martin Crickmore, Roly Langridge and Frank Seaton founded the SLH Badminton Section in 1971.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAt the outbreak of WWII in September 1939, our \u0027Coulsdon Hall\u0027 was immediately requisitioned for Civil Defence purposes by the Local Authorities for the use of the ARP (Air Raid Precautions) Wardens as a Decontamination Centre, \u0026 as a base \u0026 a store for associated equipment. However, due to the efforts of the three abovementioned key SLH Ltd directors, a very satisfactory compensation rent was agreed, which enabled SLH Ltd to pay its debentures\u0027 interest \u0026 reduce its overdraft. On the termination of the Hall\u0027s requisitioning in the summer of 1946, \u0027Jack\u0027 Densham (of the SLH Inter-Schools \u0027Densham\u0027 Cup Race renown) negotiated the Compensation Claim for reinstatement.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDuring WWII, SLH \u0026 Orion Harriers were initially invited to use Ranelagh\u0027s CC HQ at Petersham for training on Saturdays during the second half of the 1939/40 CC season. However, before the start of the 1940/41 CC season Ranelagh\u0027s HQ was also requisitioned and Richmond Park was closed to the general public. TH\u0026H then kindly invited SLH, Ranelagh \u0026 Orion to use their then original HQ at the King\u0027s Head, in .Roehampton Village, for Saturday training over Wimbledon Common.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1942, temporary accommodation was obtained in the Cricket Pavilion on Banstead Downs. Unfortunately, it was burnt down before the next CC season started. We then moved to Belmont Hall on the railway bridge at Belmont Railway Station for training in the 1943/44 \u0026 1944/45 seasons. From there, we also staged the \u0027Densham\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools race over Banstead Downs in 1944 \u0026 1945; and staged the \u0027Artists Rifles\u0027 Cup SLH \u0027Junior Men Under 21\u0027 5 mile Club CC Championship (previously last staged in January 1939) in February 1944, 1945 \u0026 1946; and staged the \u0027Moates\u0027 Cup SLH Invitation Novices CC Race (previously last staged in autumn 1938, a novice being someone who had not won an open race) in December 1942 \u0026 1943, \u0026 January 1945 \u0026 December 1945.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWe used Purley County GS, at Bradmore Green, Old Coulsdon, to stage the \u0027Densham\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools Race in 1940, (cancelled in 1941), 1942, 1943 \u0026 1946; and to promote the \u0027SLH 30\u0027 Race in 1942 (inaugural race) and in 1943, 1944 \u0026 1945.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWe used the Cadets Drill Hall at the top of Marlpit Lane, Old Coulsdon, to stage the \u0027SLH 30\u0027 Race in 1946.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the second half of the 1945/46 CC season, we had to use the local Scouts hut by Coulsdon South Railway Station on Saturdays for training purposes, before we were able to return to Coulsdon Hall for the opening of the 1946/47 CC Season.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eFarthing Downs Cross Country\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom October 1919, our courses started \u0026 finished on \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027. From 1928 until late spring 1957, our 5 mile course left \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027 to run a circuit passing close to \u0027Netherne\u0027 Hospital \u0026 Alderstead Heath before returning via Chaldon Church, the \u0027ploughed field\u0027 \u0026 \u0027Happy Valley\u0027. Until October 1946, our 7½ mile course was a one lap race but due to Alderstead Heath being off bounds due it being used as a military car park, etc., our 7½ mile course was altered so that when the 5 mile course returned to \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027, runners were required to pass the \u0027Welcome Tearooms\u0027 and cross \u0027Ditches Lane\u0027 to repeat the extra 2½ mile circuit before returning to the finish. In those days, our less manicured courses included a number of \u00275-bar gates\u0027, stiles \u0026 \u0027elephant traps\u0027, etc.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSince October 1957, our usual 5 mile courses have gone out from \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027 via the steep \u0027chalk path\u0027 \u0026 \u0027Happy Valley\u0027, passing Leazes Avenue to Chaldon Church, and returning via the \u0027ploughed field\u0027, \u0027Happy Valley\u0027 \u0026 \u0027Devilsden Wood\u0027 to \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027. Our 7½ mile course included an extra 2½ mile loop, which after returning to \u0027Farthing Downs\u0027 reprised most of the 5 mile course via a short link on the downs to the steep \u0027chalk path\u0027 \u0026 \u0027happy valley\u0027, etc. After 1957, the number of previous hazards gradually disappeared, as the local countryside became more manicured by the authorities so as to be more inviting to walkers \u0026 tourists.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eSLH\u0026nbsp;in\u0026nbsp;competition\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe\u0026nbsp;National\u0026nbsp;CC Championship\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH competed in the first \u0027National\u0027 CC Championship, rather pretentiously dubbed at the time by the promoters as \"The All England Cross-Country Championship\" on November 18th 1876, which was staged from \"The Bald-Faced Stag\" at Buckhurst Hill, Epping Forest. It rained all afternoon and when James Gibb (SLH) was leading well ahead of the field, and with Charles Larrette and other SLH men in good positions, the paper-trail marking the course ran out of paper three miles from the finish. The whole field went off course, with the runners losing their way in the forest, so the race was declared \u0027void\u0027. If the trail had not given out, SLH would surely have won both individual and team Championships.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWhen it was re-run on February 24th 1877, over 11¾ miles at Roehampton, James Gibb was leading by 2 minutes at half-way, when he was misdirected off-course. He managed to re-join the race but lost so much time that he could only finish 8th, whilst Charles Larrette led SLH home when finishing 4th individual.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe NCCU (National CC Union) took over the organisation of the \u0027National CC Championship\u0027 from the TH\u0026H (Thames, Hare \u0026 Hounds) from March 1884. In 1937, the NCCU became the ECCU (English CC Union). Until 1992 (when the Men\u0027s \u0026 Women\u0027s governing bodies merged into the ECCA [English CC Association]), the various Men\u0027s Championships were open to all UK clubs (incl. Southern Ireland clubs until its independence) and even the very strong New Zealand World CC Championships team, in 1965, 1967 \u0026 1973. In 1904, two French Clubs ran, and in 1920 \u0026 1922, a famous French guest runner won the race.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUnder our respected CC Captain, Peter Pirie, SLH achieved in March 1955, at RAF Cardington, the unique feat of winning all three Men\u0027s team races on the same day: the \"Youths\" (Under 18 men), the \"Senior Men\u0027s\" race, \u0026 finally the \"Junior Men\" (Under 21 men). Gordon Pirie (the 1953 winner at Caversham Park, Reading, \u0026 the 1954 winner at Arrowe Park, Birkenhead) was the individual \u0027Senior\u0027 Champion for a third successive year, and Roly Langridge (b. 20/4/1937) was 2nd in the \"Youths\" race. \u0027Ferdie\u0027 Gilson (b. 19/8/1935) was the 3rd Under 20 year old. (the IAAF age-group) in the \"Junior Men\u0027s\" Race.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1956 at Warwick Racecourse, Roly Langridge was the National \"Junior Men\u0027s\" (Under 21) CC Champion and SLH retained that team Championship with the all-time record points score, despite our 2nd best runner, Laurie Reed (b 21/5/1936).being absent injured.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH won the National \"Senior Men\u0027s\" team Championship again in 1957 at Parliament Hill Fields, with Peter Driver, Mick Firth \u0026 Derek Ibbotson the 2nd, 4th, \u0026 6th individuals, \u0026 again in 1958 at Arrowe Park, Birkenhead, with Mick Firth (b. 24/8/1932) the 3rd individual.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn March 1947, Peter Pirie, was the National \"Youths\" (Under 18 men) CC Champion at Apsley, Hertfordshire, on a course deep in snow with a hazardous long stretch of \u0027up \u0026 down hill\u0027 frozen plough. SLH (scoring: 1, 6, 23 \u0026 29) tied with Liverpool Harriers \u0026 AC. (scoring: 9, 12, 14, \u0026 34) on 69 pts, for 1st place in the \u0027Youths\u0027 team race, although SLH would have been the outright champions, if the current rule introduced shortly after 1947 to avoid future team-race ties (i.e., the position of the last scorer now decides the result in the event of a tie) had been in effect.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHerbert A. Heath was the individual National CC Champion twice, in 1892 at Ockham, near Ripley, Surrey, and in 1893 at Redditch, Worcestershire. Alfred Shrubb (b. 12/12/1879 – d. 23/4/1964) was the individual National CC Champion four times, in 1901-1904, at Leicester, Lingfield Park, Haydock Park \u0026 Wolverhampton. He won the individual \u0027International\u0027 CC Championship (the forerunner of the World CC Championships) in the first two such races, in 1903 \u0026 1904, at Hamilton Park, Hamilton, near Glasgow, and Haydock Park.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUp to \u0026 including the 1951-52 CC season, the \u0027age-limits\u0027 for CC were \"age on the day\", the same as now applies to \u0027Vets\u0027. From the 1952-53 CC season, the CC \u0027age limits\u0027 were \"as at 1st October\". From the 1965-66 CC season, the \u0027age-limits\u0027 were altered to the current \"as at 1st September\".\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUp to \u0026 including the 1951 track \u0026 field season, \u0027age-limits\u0027 were \"age on the day\". From the 1952 T\u0026F season, the \u0027age-limits\u0027 were \"as at 1st April\". From the 1965 T\u0026F season, the \u0027age-limits\u0027 were changed to the current \"as at 1st September\". \u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Southern CC Championship\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1884 at Hendon, SLH won the first \u0027Southern\u0027 Men\u0027s CC team Championship and our 13 wins, is only one less than Highgate Harriers\u0027 record number.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eMob Matches - Blackheath (since 1896), Ranelagh Harriers (1909), Orion Harriers (1920), Thames Hare \u0026 Hounds (1984)\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn October 1873, the SLH Hon. Secretary, Mr. E. E. Smith, resigned from SLH in disgrace, to found another club, Albert AAC in nearby Nunhead. Close relations with Blackheath Harriers were soon established with unofficial \u0027joint\u0027 training runs, with a meal afterwards.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSince December 1896, the two clubs have met in 103 \"Nicholls\" Cup annual Mob matches with only 15 cancelled due to WWI, WWII, \u0026 three dates due to: December 1899 impenetrable fog; March 2001 \u0027foot \u0026 mouth\u0027 disease at Hayes; \u0026 a 1906 falling out over Alfred Shrubb\u0027s alleged professionalism. The score after the match at Coulsdon in the 2014/15 season is: SLH 56 wins to Blackheath\u0027s 48 wins.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOther long-established Mob Matches are with Ranelagh Harriers (\"Stubbs\" Cup), \u0026 Orion H., since 1909 \u0026 1920 respectively. During the 1983/84 CC Season, SLH v Thames Hare \u0026 Hounds mob matches started on February 4th 1984. Of the traditional mob match clubs (SLH, Blackheath H, Ranelagh H, \u0026 Orion H), TH\u0026H only have two mob matches per season with firstly, their close neighbours, Ranelagh H., (started 1/12/1973), and secondly, SLH, who were the earliest CC opponents of TH\u0026H in the 1870s \u0026 early 1880s, that still exist as a club.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBetween November 1955 \u0026 November 1999, there were 45 annual \u0027Peter Driver\u0027 Cup \u0027Vet\u0027s CC Mob Matches\u0027 contested by SLH, Blackheath H, Ranelagh H, \u0026 Orion H, all at one venue on a rotating venue basis, usually held on an early November Saturday each CC Season. From 1955 – 1996, the distance was 7½ miles, but for the last three matches, 1997 – 1999, the distance was reduced to 10k. The demise of the \u0027Vets Mob Match\u0027 was mainly due to most of the runners in the regular \u0027mob matches\u0027 being overwhelmingly \u0027Vets\u0027 for some years, so that a separate \u0027Vets mob match\u0027 had become redundant.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBetween 1950 \u0026 1965, there were 16 annual Track \u0026 Field Mob Matches versus our main CC mob-match rivals: Blackheath Harriers. The first match was held at Tooting Bec on Wednesday evening August 16th 1950. In alternate years, \u0027away matches\u0027 were held at our rivals\u0027 home track at the time, of Ladywell Arena Athletics track, Doggett Road, Catford, SE6. The matches consisted of sprint relays, middle-distance team races (using CC scoring) and the hurdles \u0026 field events, which were decided by adding together the performances of either 2 or 3 athletes per team. In 1957, the 880 yards field of 28 (14-a-side) starting off a straight line was interesting and required a speedy start to get to the first bend.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThese track \u0026 field mob matches disappeared from our fixture list, as the difficulties posed by being held on Wednesday evenings in August and consequent weakened team turnouts due to late-working \u0026 travel problems experienced by the away team each year, proved insolvable.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eUK National 12-stage Road Relay Championship\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eUnder our respected CC Captain, Peter Pirie (b.4/6/1929), SLH won the UK National 12-stage Road Relay Championship, in four successive years 1954-1957, when it was an 11-stage relay rather than a 12-stage relay. The revised stages involved replacing the usual 6th, 7th \u0026 8th legs (out of 12 legs): from the \u0027Prince Albert\u0027, Earlswood Common to Povey Cross, to the \u0027Blue Pencil Cafe, County Oak, to the \u0027Red lion\u0027 Handcross; by two longer legs.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe temporary overall race distance was only a little short of the usual full 54 miles of the \u0027Palace Yard, Westminster Abbey to the Aquarium, Brighton Front\u0027 course (on the A23 trunk road from Purley onwards), which was diverted for those four years whilst Gatwick Aerodrome (dating from 1930 and extended for RAF Gatwick 1939-46) was upgraded to an International Airport for £7.8 million.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eWorld Records\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOn the track, SLH has had three 1st Claim members (at the time) who held World Records: Alfred Shrubb (b. 12/12/1879 – d. 23/4/1964), Gordon Pirie (b. 10/2/1931 – d. 7/12/1991) \u0026 Derek Ibbotson (b. 17/6/1932).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAlfred Shrubb established World Records in 1902, 1903 \u0026 1904 at 17 different distances: 2,000yds; 1¼ mile; 1½ mile; 1¾ mile; 2 mile; 4,000yds; 3 mile; 4 mile; 5 mile; 6 mile; 10,000m; 7 mile; 8 mile; 9 mile; 10 mile; 11 mile; \u0026 1 hour; all without pacemakers.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eGordon Pirie recorded World Records at 4 distances on 5 different occasions: 3,000m (1956 Trondheim, Norway \u0026 1956 Malmö, Sweden); 5,000m (1956 Bergen, Norway); and two at White City, London: 6 mile (1953 AAA) \u0026 4 x 1,500m Relay (1953). Derek Ibbotson established 2 World Records: at the White City, London in 1957: 1 mile (v New York) \u0026 the 4 x 1 Mile Relay (v Finland).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eIndividual international and national honours\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur Olympic Medalists (1st claim members, at the time) are Thomas John Henry \u0027Tom\u0027 Richards (b. 15/3/1910 – 19/1/1985) Silver in 1948 London Marathon; Douglas Alistair Gordon Pirie, Silver in 1956 Melbourne 5,000m; and \u0027Harry\u0027 Blackstaffe (b. 28/7/1868 – d. 22/8/1951) Gold in 1908 London Single Sculls Rowing. George Derek Ibbotson was elected to SLH 1st claim, 49 days after gaining Bronze in the 1956 Melbourne 5,000m, when he was still 1st claim for RAF Yatesbury.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the European Championships, Derek Pugh (b. 8/2/1926 – d. 2/5/2008 ) was the 1950 Brussels 400m Champion, \u0027Jack\u0027 Parker (b. 6/9/1927) was 2nd in the 1954 Berne, Switzerland 110m hurdles. In the British Empire/Commonwealth Championships: Dr. Harold Moody (b. 1915 – d. 12/9/1986), who was coached by Franz Stampfl, was 2nd in the 1950 Auckland, New Zealand, Shot \u0026 Peter Driver (b. 6/1932 d. 1971) was the 1954 Vancouver 6 mile Champion.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the May 1964 CAU Inter-Counties Championships, Gordon Miller (b. 16/12/1939) set a British high jump record of 2.08m using the \u0027straddle\u0027 style before the \u0027Fosbury Flop\u0027 style revolutionised high jumping from 1968 onwards. Tom Roden (b. 9/10/1946) still holds the Crystal Palace 24 hour track record of 156 miles 439 yards (251.459km), which was the world\u0027s 3rd best ever 24 hour track run, when he achieved it in October 1977.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSLH Open Events\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOver the years, SLH has promoted several prestigious series of long-running open events, covering various aspects of athletics, including road walking \u0026 even some cycling races.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe most famous of these were the long-running annual SLH Oval Open Athletics Track Meetings, staged at the world famous Kennington Oval Cricket Ground of Surrey County Cricket Club. We inaugurated that series of meetings in September 1875, which ran until September 1913, although the 1878 \u0026 1879 September meetings were cancelled. The September meetings were briefly revived in 1926 \u0026 1927. The record September meeting attendance was 20,000 spectators in Alfred Shrubb\u0027s farewell season of 1904.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn April 1889, we introduced an additional annual Spring SLH Oval Open Athletics Meeting, which ran until April 1914, although the 1894 (the Oval Cricket Ground was being re-turfed \u0026 levelled), and the 1902, \u0026 1903 April meetings were cancelled, and the April 1898.meeting was staged at the Croydon FC Ground, at Whitehorse Road, West Croydon, because the Oval\u0027s Grandstand was being rebuilt. The record April meeting attendance was 18,000 spectators also in 1904.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eInternational matches\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH has participated in track \u0026 field matches against several foreign teams.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe \u0027Entente Cordiale\u0027, was a series of agreements that resulted in a written \u0026 partly secret 3-part agreement signed in April 1904, that confirmed a cordial understanding frame of mind, shared by \u0027John Bull\u0027 and \u0027Marianne\u0027, rather than a formal alliance between Britain and France. In the prolonged run-up, SLH and the famous multi-sports club, Racing Club de France, Paris, which was founded in April 1882, confirmed cordial relations by starting a series of annual reciprocal \u0027home \u0026 away\u0027 track \u0026 field matches, which ran from 1902 - 1914.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH was the first foreign athletics team to visit Belgium, when SLH had a track \u0026 field match against the Royal Racing Club de Bruxelles in 1906 and also again in Brussels in 1908. The Belgian club was founded in 1891 as an athletics club before a football section was added in 1894.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1912, we competed in a match versus the multi-sports club: \u0027Sportovni klub Slavia Praha\u0027, in Prague, then in the Austro-Hungarian Empire\u0027s Province of Bohemia. That club is now better known as the Czech Republic Soccer club: \u0027SK Slavia Prague\u0027, although it was founded by medical students in November 1892, initially as a Cycling, and later as an Athletics \u0026 Soccer club.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter WWII, SLH and the multi-sports club \u0027IL (Idrettslaget) Norrøna\u0027, founded in September 1889 in Bergen, Norway, had a series of reciprocal track \u0026 field matches \u0026 athletics tours in Norway: in 1947, 1953, 1957, 1961, 1965, \u0026 1973; and in the home-counties of the south of England in 1951, 1955, 1959, 1963, 1967 \u0026 1971. In the mid-1970s, the Norwegian Club\u0027s athletics section ceased to exist, perhaps in the face of fierce competition from their Bergen rivals, the strong \u0027IL Gular\u0027 club, which seemed to have gradually abandoned its handball, skiing, gymnastics \u0026 football sections, to concentrate on athletics.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe \u0027Densham\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools CC Race \u0026 the\u0026nbsp;\u0027Holt\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools Track \u0026 Field Match\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1936, SLH first promoted the \u0027Densham\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools CC Race, which has been held annually ever since (except in 1941) for the eldest scholars. .Later, races were added for younger secondary school scholars, and more recently girls\u0027 races have been added. Also in recent years, Inter-Primary Schools races have been added, which are usually held on the same day although in the Saturday morning, for logistical reasons to cope with the increased overall numbers taking part.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom 1943 – 1978, SLH promoted the annual \u0027Holt\u0027 Cup SLH Inter-Schools Track \u0026 Field Match, although the 1977 match was cancelled due to the temporary closure of Tooting Bec track for major alterations.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eIndoor Athletics\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH proposed to hold an Indoor Athletics Meeting on March 20th 1912 at the Holland Park Skating Rink if it could be treated as preliminary Olympic Trials for the 1912 Stockholm Olympics. Unfortunately, the AAA did not agree which upset the Rink\u0027s authorities and SLH had to drop the idea. It was not until 1935 that the first AAA Indoor Championships were held at the Wembley Indoor Arena and continued to 1939 and were revived in 1962, though some unrelated post-war meetings were held before then.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1974/75 SLH again led the way, thanks to Mick Mein and John Greatrex, when we started to promote an Indoor Athletics Inter-Schools League at Crystal Palace.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eRoad running\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn Road Running, SLH won the team race three times in the 1977, 1978 \u0026 1981 Ultra Distance London (Palace Yard, Westminster) to the Brighton Front (the Aquarium) Race. Tom\u0027 Richards was the individual winner in 1955. SLH won the Isle of Man 40 mile team race on 6 occasions and for 49 years (1943-1991), SLH promoted a 30 miles Road Race, the only race of that distance in the UK, and won it on 16 occasions.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eErnest Neville (1883-1972) joined SLH in late 1903 and his first race was the 1903 annual \u0027SLH Boxing Day 18½ miles Walk\u0027, from our then CC HQ the \u0027Swan \u0026 Sugar Loaf\u0027 Inn in South Croydon to Godstone \u0026 back. He mainly competed as a walker at distances from one mile to 100 miles in the colours of the Surrey Walking Club, which Ernest Neville and other SLH members: E. Knott and E. Ion Pool founded.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIt is said that Ernest Neville informally walked from London to Brighton as a 14-year old in 1897. Obviously, the \u0027die was cast\u0027 as he became a life-long athletics administrator \u0026 promoter especially of ultra-distance events. He was the leading figure in the formation of the Road Walking Association in 1907, the Centurians in 1911, and the RRC (Road Runners Club) in 1952, which was inspired by the very successful inaugural London to Brighton Ultra Running Race on August 11th 1951, organised by Ernest Neville, who was very experienced in organising ultra-distance walking races, including such races over that course.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe London to Brighton ultra-distance running race was an annual event from 1951 until 2005, when organisational difficulties prevented its continuation on public roads. The exact distance varied over the years from 52 miles 694 yards to 55 miles, due to road \u0026 course changes. In the early years, the first few miles to the Purley/Coulsdon area, the ultra-distance course differed from the first few miles used until 1965 for the April National \u0026 until 1964 for the October Southern Road Relays. The National road relays were forced to move to courses in the Leicester \u0026 Sutton Coldfield areas, and the Southern road relays were forced to move to courses in the Wimbledon, Aldershot \u0026 Milton Keynes areas.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1961, John Christopher Jewell (b. 1912 – d. 2001), the SLH President 1979-81, wrote a seminal paper: \"Notes on the Measurement of Roads for Athletic Events\", describing road race course measurement in England. He elaborated \u0026 refined in detail the calibrated bicycle method used by the Road Time Trial Council of British cyclists. John became friends with the US Ultra Distance runner, Ted Corbet, who in 1964 published a monograph surveying measurement methods around the World: \"Measuring Road Running Courses\", which quoted in detail from John\u0027s 1961 paper. Ted\u0027s work helped establish World-wide acceptance of the calibrated bicycle method as the road race standard. Ted\u0027s work inspired Alan Jones to invent the \"Jones Counter\" in 1970, which removed the need for \u0027spoke counting\u0027 described in John\u0027s paper.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe AAA Course Measuring Working Party was set up in 1985 to introduce a road race course certification system, for events run under the AAA Permit System. The Chairman was John Disley, the Olympic 3,000m Steeplechaser, who was 3rd in the 1952 Helsinki, \u0026 6th in the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, despite catching virus pneumonia a few weeks before. John Disley was a 2nd Claim SLH member for CC running in the late 1950s.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSLH\u0026nbsp;role in the administration of athletics\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH has played a leading role in the administration of our sport since the earliest years of organised sport in the 19th Century. SLH was involved in the formation of the AAA (1880) and the NCCU [1884, which became the ECCU (1937), \u0026 ECCA (1992)], and was the prime founder of the Southern Men\u0027s T\u0026F League in 1929, amongst other Clubs.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eA non-active SLH member, The Reverend Robert Stuart de Courcy Laffan (1853-1927), was a fluent French, German and Italian speaker, who had been Principal (Headmaster) of Cheltenham College (1895-99), and who had impressed Baron Pierre de Coubertin. They became friends, and worked together to stabilise and permanently establish the Summer Olympic Games after the chaotically organised earliest Summer Games staged quadrennially, from 1896 in Athens, Paris and St. Louis (USA), had put the future of the Olympics in doubt. The Revd., de Courcy Laffan was a key figure in establishing the British Olympic Association (BOA) in 1905 and was a member of the International Olympic Committee (1897-1927). As the BOA Honorary Secretary, he was also a key figure in ensuring that the 1908 London Olympics was a great success.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH has the unique record of having provided the World Athletics governing body, the IAAF, with its Hon. Secretary-Treasurer from 1946 to 1976, that office being held by E. J. \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt, CMG., CBE., (1946-52), Don Pain, MBE (1952-69), and Fred Holder, OBE (1969-76).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBesides being mainly responsible for our rapid recovery \u0026 progress after WWI, through his great drive, our greatest SLH athletics administrator, \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt held the posts of AAA Championships Secretary (1927-32), the NCCU Secretary (1930-34), the AAA Treasurer (1932-38), the AAA Secretary (1938-47), British AA Board Secretary (1938-47), the Director of Organisation of the 1948 London Olympics and the Technical Advisor in Australia (1952-56) for the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, besides other posts in \u0026 outside of SLH.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eInternational technical officials\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH has produced many outstanding International Technical Officials including Harry A. Hathway, the \"father of modern timekeeping\". He was a timekeeper at the 1948 London Olympics and over the next 30 years, he worked unremittingly to perfect UK timekeeping. A maths master at Rutlish Grammar School (1929-67), he devised the first ever timekeepers test (September 1949 at Motspur Park) and co-wrote the standard AAA \u0027Bible\u0027 \"Technique of Starting \u0026 Timekeeping\" with J.W. Aspland in 1963.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWalter \u0027Wally\u0027 Tripp (b. 1856 or 1857 – d.9/6/1928) who was a Lloyds Bank man was well-known in the City. In his youth, he was a keen hurdler in the 1870s. Later, with fellow SLH man, Malcolm G. Dunlop, he founded the Inter-Banks Athletics Association. However, it was as a Starter that he was best known. He was the SLH Starter for many years until about 1924, and was the regular Starter at the AAA Championships and the famous \u0026 very popular SLH Spring \u0026 late Summer T\u0026F meetings at the Kennington Oval Cricket Ground of the Surrey County Cricket Club. He was the Starter at the 1908 London Olympics and it took a very sharp man to beat \u0027Wally\u0027 and his gun. Later, he was the SLH President in 1920/21.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eA WWI RFC pilot and an International sprinter, who played for the Surrey County Rugby team, Frank Norris, was a marksman at the 1948 London Olympics and for 20 years was Chief Marksman at all the major national \u0026 International meetings. Frank was also the SLH Starter (1946-69).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrank Norris\u0027s great friend and fellow sprinter, \u0027Jack\u0027 Lemon was a distinguished Field Referee for many years. In WWII, after his wife was killed in an air-raid, \u0027Jack\u0027 joined the RAF and qualified as a Rear Gunner flying in Lancaster bombers, despite being over the usual age for the most physically demanding \u0026 psychologically stressful role of bomber aircrew.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eDistinguished\u0026nbsp;coaches from the past\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur most distinguished coaches have been responsible for the achievements of many International athletes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eHarry Andrews (b. c.1853 – d. June 1927)\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the late Victorian and Edwardian eras, and beyond Harry Andrews (b. c.1853 – d. June 1927) was considered to be Britain\u0027s leading coach (then usually referred to as \u0027trainer\u0027), who wrote five books (from 1904 to 1925) including his 1914 book \u0027Training for Track, Field and Road\u0027 edited by E. Elliot Stock, of the publishers Stanley Paul, and a 1925 book with Field Marshal the Earl Alexander\u0027s younger brother, the Irish Guards Capt. The Hon. William Sigismund Patrick. Alexander, DSO, (b. 1894 - d. 1972), who joined SLH in 1920, and was a Colonel on the General Staff in WWII.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFor many years, Harry Andrews was the official SLH Coach \u0026 Masseur and the official AAA Coach. He coached our great multiple World Record Holder, Alfred Shrubb, and J. Butler a 50 mile World running record holder. Harry Andrews also coached Montague A. Holbein, the famous Channel Swimmer and the cyclist, T.A. Fisher, a 1,000 mile World Cycle record holder, and W.J. Bailey, a World Sprint Cycle record holder. Andrews also coached A.E. Walters (Polytechnic Cycling Club) and the \u0027Ultra Distance\u0027 cyclists, Frank Shorland and A.A. Chase.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eCapt. Frederick Annesley Michael Webster (b. 1886 – d, 1949)\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 1911 \u0026 1923 AAA Javelin Champion (at the ages of 25 \u0026 37), the great \u0027inter-war\u0027 coach, Capt. Frederick Annesley Michael Webster (b. 1886 – d, 1949), has been called the \u0027Father of British Athletics Coaching\u0027. He coached SLH in the \u0027inter-war\u0027 years and was the most outstanding British thinker in the \u0027inter-war\u0027 Athletics coaching world. He adopted scientific ideas and, amongst many other subjects, explored \u0027oxygen debt\u0027, biomechanics, dietetics, and the theories, on the effects of anxiety on the efficiency of an athlete\u0027s circulation \u0026 digestion, advanced by the Russian Physiologist, Ivan Petrovich Pavlov, of \u0027Pavlov\u0027s dogs fame\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom 1934, Webster directed the annual AAA Summer School at Loughborough College and in 1936 created the Loughborough School of Athletics, Games and Physical Education, the most outstanding products of which: Geoff Dyson, John Le Masurier, \u0026 Denis Watts, became AAA National Coaches. The post-war AAA Coaching Scheme operating from the late 1940s owes much to Webster. He wrote more than 30 books on athletics. The great New Zealand coach, Arthur Lydiard, considered that Webster knew more about athletics than anyone else he had read, although he did consider that Webster didn\u0027t push his athletes hard enough.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWebster coached his son, Frederick Richard Webster (b. 31/12/1914 – d. 28/9/2009), who won the AAA Pole Vault in 1936, 1939 \u0026 1948 and competed in the 1936 Berlin Olympics (=6th) \u0026 the 1948 London Olympics. He held the British record from 1935 to 1950, and finished his army career as a Brigadier (= a 1 Star General).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eGuy Montague Butler\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe 1920 Antwerp Olympic Gold \u0026 Silver medallist and 1924 Paris Olympic double bronze medallist, Guy Montague Butler, was a noted track coach who pioneered the filming of athletes in training \u0026 competition as an aid to coaching. He was also an SLH coach in the \u0027inter-war\u0027 period.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eFranz Stampfl\u0026nbsp;MBE\u0026nbsp;(b. Vienna 18/11/1913 – d. 19/3/1995) \u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFranz Stampfl\u0026nbsp;was one of the World\u0027s leading 20th Century freelance professional Athletics Coaches. He was a modern \u0027Renaissance Man\u0027, believing everyone should strive to reach their full potential. Although he was an early advocate of interval training, he had a holistic approach to coaching: covering: mind, body \u0026 spirit. He had an uncanny ability to judge an athlete and their short-, medium-, \u0026 long-term potential, whatever their event. His technical knowledge of field events was immense and his grasp of the psychological aspects of sports has been equalled by very few, if any. His influence on the trio: Bannister, Chataway and especially, the \u0027carthorse\u0027, Brasher, who became an Olympic Champion, was typical of his amazing powers to enhance an athlete\u0027s confidence.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe was an art student in Vienna and had been a javelin thrower and all-round athlete of some promise, and became an Austrian Winter Sports \u0026 Athletics Coach in the 1930s, and was said to have been an Austria Team coach at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. After the March 1938 Nazi Austrian Anschluss, Franz fled to London and studied at the Chelsea College of Art, and tried to join the British army. He always admired the British because of their love of amateur sport. He was our top SLH coach for two periods: 1938-1939 and May 1951-July 1955, after which he \u0026 his Australian wife migrated to her homeland, for Franz to become the Melbourne University Director of Athletics.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1939, he was interned as a supposed \u0027enemy alien\u0027 and on July 2nd 1940 was on the SS Arandora Star, when torpedoed in the Atlantic. To survive he forced a steel plate aside to get up to the deck and jump into the freezing cold, oil-slicked, Atlantic water. After treading water for over 7 hours, warding off \u0027shock\u0027 \u0026 keeping his head above water, he was rescued by a Canadian Destroyer. He was then sent to an Internment Camp in Australia.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the 1954 Berne European Championships, Franz coached all three British Gold medallists, including Roger Bannister (1,500m), plus Chris Chataway, 2nd in the 5,000m and \u0027Jack\u0027 Parker (SLH) 2nd in the 110m hurdles. This riled Geoff Dyson, the Chief AAA Coach, who was responsible for a campaign against \"that \u0027xxxxxxx\u0027 foreigner\". In the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, Franz coached the 3,000m Steeplechase Champion, Chris Brasher, \u0026 11 Australian athletes. In the 1968 Mexico Olympics, Franz coached Ralph Doubell, the 800m Champion.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003e\u0027Fred\u0027 Housden, OBE., MC., TD.\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u0027Fred\u0027 Housden\u0026nbsp;was a former International hurdler, long jumper \u0026 pole vaulter (with the bamboo pole). Fred was a mathematician who retired in 1952, when he was the 2nd Master (Deputy Head) at Harrow School. When in his 70s, he became the \u0027technical\u0027 hurdling coach who coached David Hemery, to become the 1968 Mexico Olympics 400m hurdles Champion. After retiring from Harrow School, \u0027Fred\u0027 devoted all his time to coaching both sexes, including Pat Pryce née Nutting, a British 80m hurdles record holder.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDavid Hemery frankly admits \"Fred was the man who taught me to hurdle and I think it stood me in tremendously good stood being a 110m hurdler. That\u0027s because if you get too close to a 400m hurdle, it doesn\u0027t make that much difference if you have the fast lead leg of a.110m hurdler. With Fred I had a coach who fully explained the mechanics of hurdling and the methods behind his coaching technique\".\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFred collaborated with Geoff Dyson on the 1961 book \"The Mechanics of Athletics\", which remains the definitive work on the subject. Fred was also heavily involved with experiments involving women\u0027s hurdling heights \u0026 distances, which led to the 80m hurdles being superseded by the 100m hurdles.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1921, Fred represented England in the 110m hurdles \u0026 long jump. However, his best event was the pole vault in which he was only 11cm short of the British record of the time, when he was 2nd in the1928 \u0026 1929 AAA Championships and represented the British Empire v the USA in 1928. He was not only one of Britain\u0027s finest ever athletics coaches but he gave so much for his country in many ways, including when in WWI, he was awarded the Military Cross, whilst serving in the Royal Field Artillery.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDavid Hemery who was previously a 110m hurdler described Fred\u0027s attributes as: \"patience, humility, technically knowledgeable, awesome eye, humour, caring, respect, friendship, and a real gentleman.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e\u003cem\u003eMick Mein\u003c/em\u003e\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSince Housden\u0027s death in 1974, our former President, \u0027Mick\u0027 Mein, has been our most distinguished athletics coach. He lectures on behalf of the UK Governing Bodies. He has also been the \u0027fitness coach\u0027 to England International teams \u0026 individuals in rugby union XVs \u0026 VIIs, \u0026 various other sports. \u0027Mick\u0027 set up the first Athletics Academy (based at Canterbury High School) \u0026 headed up Athletics at the Sussex Downs College, in Lewes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003ch3\u003eNotable SLH members\u003c/h3\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSome notable SLH members from the past\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH Members who distinguished themselves in the wider world, include: Field Marshal the Right Honourable the Earl Alexander of Tunis, KG, GCB, OM, GCMG, CSI, DSO, MC, CD, PC, PC (Can) (b.10/12/1891 – d. 16/6/1969), also known as \"Alex\", who joined SLH in 1912 when he was known as the Irish Guards 2nd Lt. Harold Alexander. He was the 1914 Irish Mile Champion, and finished WWI as acting Lt. Colonel despite being wounded in a hand \u0026 thigh in 1914 \u0026 1917. \"Alex\", who \u0027went over the top\u0027 30 times or more, always led from the front, and had the gift of handling men in ways they most readily responded to.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn WWII, when a Major-General \"Alex\" was the last senior officer to leave Dunkirk on June 3rd 1940. In 1942, he was overall Commander of Allied Land Forces in Burma, then in North Africa \u0026 the Middle East, overseeing Montgomery\u0027s 8th Army Victory at 2nd El Alamein, before controlling the two armies of Montgomery \u0026 Patton capturing Sicily. When he was Supreme Allied Commander Mediterranean he accepted the German surrender in Italy on April 29th 1945.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAlmost all American \u0026 British Officers preferred \"Alex\u0027s\" understated urbane manner \u0026 sensible willingness to discuss \u0026 compromise. US Generals like Eisenhower \u0026 Omar Bradley really appreciated \"Alex\u0027s\" patience \u0026 experience, which helped an inexperienced US field command to mature \u0026 come of age.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eFrom 1946-1952, SLH Vice-President \"Alex\" was a very popular Governor General of Canada, with Canadians, with his relatively informal style. In 1949, he oversaw the admission of the British crown colony of Newfoundland into the Canadian Confederation. During 1952-1954, he was Churchill\u0027s Minister of Defence.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eLt. General Sir Frederick Arthur Montague \u0027Boy\u0027 Browning GCVO, KBE, CB, DSO, (b. 20/12/1896 – d. 14/3/1965) joined SLH as a hurdler in 1921 when a Grenadier Guards Captain, who had won the DSO in 1917. He was the bob-sleigh \u0027brakeman\u0027 in the 1924 Chamonix Winter Olympics, but was injured in practice. In the 1928 St. Moritz Winter Olympics, he was in the GB bobsleigh team finishing 10th. In 1925, he was the English 120yds hurdles Champion and in 1932, he married the novelist Daphne du Maurier, of \u0027Jamaica Inn\u0027 \u0026 \u0027Rebecca\u0027 fame.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn WWII, he qualified as a pilot and became Commander of the 1st Airborne Division \u0026 was responsible for the introduction of the paratroopers maroon beret. Browning, the Senior British Airborne Commander at Arnheim, was heard to say \"I think we might be going a bridge too far\". In December 1945, he became Chief of Staff to Admiral Lord Louis Mountbatten, the Supreme Allied Commander, South East Asia Command (SEAC) until July 1946. An SLH Vice-President, Browning was the 1948 London Olympics British Team Commandant.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAn energetic polymath \u0026 an SLH Vice-President, Sir John Lubbock, MP, PC, FRS, DCL, LLD, (b.30/4/1834 – d.28/5/1913) who from 1900-1913, was known as the 1st Lord Avebury. He was educated at Eton College and soon became a prominent banker, becoming a partner at Coutts \u0026 Co., when only 22 years old. He created the \u0027cheque clearing system\u0027 and was Liberal MP for Maidstone (1870-1880) and London University (1880-1900).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe had a distinguished political career, with four main agenda: promotion of science in primary \u0026 secondary schools; the national debt, free trade \u0026 related issues; protection of ancient monuments; and securing additional holidays \u0026 shorter working hours for the working classes.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eA great philanthropist, he was the most successful law maker of his time. He was responsible for the Shop Hours Act, Open Spaces Act, the Public Libraries Act, the 1882 Ancient Monuments Act, which led to the creation of \u0027English Heritage\u0027, as well as the 1871 Bank Holidays Act, which created four Bank Holidays: Easter Monday, Whit Monday, the 1st Monday in August, and Boxing Day, among other Acts. In 1884, he founded what is now known as the \"Electoral Reform Society\".\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHis neighbour, Charles Darwin was a great friend. Besides being an MP for 43 years, and Chairman of the LCC (London County Council), Sir John had wide-ranging scientific \u0026 historical interests, including archaeology, ethnography \u0026 several branches of biology. He helped to establish archaeology as a scientific discipline and invented the terms, \u0027Palaeolithic\u0027 \u0026 \u0027Neolithic\u0027, to denote the Old \u0026 New Stone Ages. He wrote many scientific publications including his 1882 book on \"Ants, Bees \u0026 Wasps\", about the habits of the social hymenoptera.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSLH founder members\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSLH founder members are considered to have been those elected by our first AGM in April 1872. Amongst those founder members, was The Rt. Hon. Lord George Francis Hamilton, GSSL, MP, PC, JP, (b. 12/1845 – d. 9/1927). He was MP for Middlesex (1868-1885) \u0026 for Ealing (1885-1906), Under Secretary of State for India (1874-1878), First Lord of the Admiralty (6/1885 – 1/1886), Secretary of State for India (8/1886 – 8/1892) and (7/1895 – 10/1903). He was also President of the Royal Statistical Society (1910 – 12) \u0026 (1915 – 16).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSir Osborn George Holmden, KBE, JP, (b. late 1869 – d. 16/4/1945), was a sprinter and over his best distance he won the 1893 and 1894 SLH 440 yds Club Championships. He served on the SLH Committee (1892 – 96).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe was knighted in 1918 for his services as Director of the Inter-Allied Chartering Executive during World War I. In this connection, the major maritime nation, Norway, also made him a knight of the Order of St. Olav.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe was a British delegate at the 1919 post-WWI Peace Conference, attended by 32 countries and nationalities, which was staged in the stunning \u0027Hall of Mirrors\u0027 in the Palace of Versailles, in France.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eNicholas Lane \u0027Pa\u0027 Jackson (b. 1/11/1849 – d. 1937) joined SLH in 1883 \u0026 later became a Life Member. He occasionally acted as a Judge at the famous SLH Kennington Oval Open Athletics \u0026 Cycling Meetings. A journalist by profession, he became the Editor of a weekly sporting journal, \u0027Pastime\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eJackson became a Sports Administrator, who was a founder member of the FA (Football Association) on October 26th 1863, at the \u0027Freemasons\u0027 Tavern\u0027 (now the \u0027Freemasons Arms\u0027, 60 Great Queen Street, WC2B 5AZ), \u0026 an FA Cttee member. He was responsible for the introduction of the award of a cap for each international association football appearance after his proposal was approved on May 10th 1886. In 1882, when he was Asst. Secretary of the FA, he founded the famous \u0027Corinthians\u0027 FC, whose most famous player was C.B.Fry. In 1939, the \u0027Corinthians\u0027 FC merged with the \u0027Casuals\u0027 FC, to become the \u0027Corinthian Casuals\u0027 FC. Jackson was also a founder member of the LTA (the Lawn Tennis Association) on January 26th 1888, in London.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSir George Rowland Blades, GBE, MP, (b. 4/1868 – d. 5/1953) was the 738th Lord Mayor of London (1926/27) and was MP for Epsom (1918 – 28). He was a director or even Chairman of the famous stationers \u0026 printing company: Blades, East \u0026 Blades.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eSir Rowland became Lord Ebbisham (1928 – 1953). \u0027Ebbisham\u0027 is an \u0027old English\u0027 name for Epsom. Until 200 or more years ago, most people in the UK were illiterate so the spelling of proper names was predominantly phonetic even into the early 19th Century. The name Ebbisham might be recorded in several versions by ill-educated professional scribes using different methods of recording phonetic words or names.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eA distinguished founder member, Charles Henry Larrette (b, Thurlby, Bourne, Lincolnshire c.1846 – d. 9/5/1913) was one of the best known sporting journalists of his day, who for many years was an able and prolific writer on all branches of athletics whilst working for the \u0027Hulton\u0027 group of newspapers. After a boyhood accident caused by a very sharp scythe, which badly injured his right arm, he had to learn to write with his left hand.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eCharles Larrette, an alumnus of Uppingham School, loved exercise, despite a near useless right arm. As a young man, he would set off on his bicycle to ride from Barnet, in Hertfordshire, to York or Edinburgh, or go for a day-long walk sticking to a regular gait of 5 miles per hour. He possessed exceptional powers of endurance and was still in the habit of walking and cycling considerable distances long after his splendid running career had ended.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe took an interest in and wrote about all forms of sport. He gave way to no man in his judgement of rowing. For many years, he would cast his expert eye on the Oxford and Cambridge crews, when they were training on the Thames tideway in the weeks before the annual Varsity race from Putney to Mortlake, and only once was his forecast of the result wrong. Of Athletics, Cricket, Rugby Football, \u0027Association Football\u0027 (Soccer) and other sports, he wrote interestingly and accurately.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn journalism, he was perhaps best known as an authority on cycling. For twenty years without a break, Charles Larrette wrote the cycling articles for the \u0027Athletic News\u0027 and there was no sounder authority on cycling matters than he was.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur first Gazette Editor, George Lacy-Hillier, had greater fame in another sport, cycle racing. In 1870, James Starley began producing \u0027Penny-farthing bicycles (aka: \u0027high wheel\u0027, \u0027high wheeler\u0027 or \u0027ordinary\u0027) the first machine to be called a \u0027bicycle\u0027. It was based on the French \u0027boneshaker\u0027. SLH introduced a \u0027Cycling\u0027 Section riding the \u0027Penny Farthing\u0027 in 1876, but by 1879 interest had waned probably due to the difficulty of riding the rather cumbersome and dangerous \u0027Penny Farthing\u0027 direct drive cycles with a very large front wheel and a very small rear wheel. In 1873, Lacy-Hillier started cycling by riding a \u0027Penny-farthing\u0027, before switching in the 1880s to the newly introduced and very popular \u0027safety\u0027 bicycle, which was really little different from similarly designed modern cycles, although the term \u0027safety bicycle\u0027 has been obsolete for many years.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eLacy-Hillier was an excellent all-round athlete and became a pioneer of British cycling. He was a founder of the Chichester \u0026 District Motorcycle Club. He was also a member of other sports clubs and was the racing secretary of the London County Cycling \u0026 Athletic Club. As such, in 1890, he initiated the construction (September 1890 - March 1891, ahead of schedule) of the famous Herne Hill Cycle Velodrome, in an area of Burbage Road, Herne Hill, leased from the Dulwich College trustees. Before being popularly called \u0027the Herne Hill track\u0027, the Velodrome was originally called \u0027the \u0027London County Grounds\u0027, being the home track of Lacy-Hillier\u0027s Cycling Club. The Velodrome was used for the 1948 London Olympics track cycling events.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1881, Lacy-Hillier won every National Cycling Championship from 1 mile to 50 miles, and in 1884, he broke all cycling records for 3, 4 \u0026 5 miles. In 1885, he set a track record in Leipzig, Germany, when he won a 10km race against the German Champion, John Pundt. George Lacy-Hillier was a writer \u0026 journalist as well as being on the London Stock Exchange, like his father before him. George\u0027s grave is in the Brockley \u0026 Ladywell Cemetery.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eGeorge Lacy-Hillier wrote four books (1888 – 1898) on Cycling. In 1887, he also co-wrote the 500 page \u0027Cycling\u0027, for the famous Badminton Library series of books, with another distinguished SLH member, William Coutts Keppel, the 7th Earl of Albermarle, who was the principal author \u0026 illustrator of that co-written tome.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWilliam Coutts Keppel (b. 15/4/1832 – d.28/ 8/1894), was the 7th Earl of Albermarle, styled with the courtesy title: Viscount Bury, KCMG, PC., from 1851 until the death of his father. After Eton College, he was a soldier before becoming a politician. Initially, a Liberal, he served as Treasurer of the Household (1859-1866) in the administrations of Lord Palmerston and Lord Russell. He later switched to the Conservative Party and held office as Under-Secretary for War (1878-1880) under Lord Beaconsfield (the former Benjamin Disraeli) and (1885-1886) under Lord Salisbury. In 1865, he wrote a history of the American colonisation: \"Exodus of the Western Nations\". He also wrote a \"Report of the condition of the Indians of North America\". He was the SLH President (1886 – 1891).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHis 3rd son, George Keppel, was the husband of Mrs. Alice Keppel née Edmonstone, the society hostess and most well-known mistress of Edward VII, who gave his name to the \u0027Edwardian Era\u0027.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe Rt. Hon. Sir Thomas Townsend Bricknill, QC, MP, PC, (d. 10/1915), was a former MP for Mid-Surrey and a former High Court Judge. He was the SLH President (1908 – 1909), our first President to only serve one term, which became the norm until 1949 (excepting WWI \u0026 WWII). Since then only four SLH Presidents have served only one term.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn his youth, Sir Thomas had been a very fine horseman and a 1st-rate boxer, a good shot, and a sprinter of no mean ability. He was a sportsman in the best sense of the word. It was said that it would be impossible to imagine a more courteous, kindly, tactful, genial, and amiable man. He had sound common sense and was a good track judge at athletic meetings.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Pirie family\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn the annals of SLH, there has sometimes been a family that has either firstly provided a member, or members, that have acted as a catalyst to move the Club dramatically forward in one area or more of our activities, or secondly a family, which has had a very significant influence on the character of one of our members.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAn example of the former criterion is the Pirie family, which gave us ten or so SLH Pirie members, including the five Pirie brothers, out of seven: Alexander Sutherland \u0027Alick\u0027 (b. 31/8/1901 – d. 26/8/1975) who was an SLH member from July 1920 to his death in late August 1975, plus his four brothers Paul Ewerdine (b. 8/8/1903 – d. 22/9/1970), Ian Keith (b. 13/8/1905 – d. 14/7/1924), Douglas (b. 21 or 23 /2/1910 – d. 25/9/1976), and Hector Lahey (b. 28/9/1915) who all competed for SLH between the wars; plus \u0027Alick\u0027s\u0027 three Pirie sons: Ian Keith (b. 19/9/1925 - d. 15/6/1969), Peter James (b. 4/6/1929), and Douglas Alistair Gordon (b.10/2/1931 – d. 7/12/1991); plus amongst others \u0027Alick\u0027s\u0027 nephew: Doug-Keith Pirie (aka: Keith Cardriver) (b. 21/12/1938 – d. 14/4/2010) the son of \u0027Alick\u0027s\u0027 abovementioned brother Douglas.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOf these SLH Piries, the stalwart Scotland CC International father, Alexander Sutherland \u0027Alick\u0027 Pirie (b. 31/8/1901 – d. 26/8/1975), with his outstanding steadfast life-time loyalty to SLH, despite his working up in Yorkshire for many years, before he, \u0027Jack\u0027 Stubbs, \u0027Billy\u0027 Holt and \u0027Laurie\u0027 Pool kept SLH going during WWII; and the athletics talent of his two youngest sons, Peter \u0026 Gordon were the catalysts that SLH needed in the 1950s. . Gordon\u0027s great efforts \u0026 determination to surpass the achievements of his arguably more gifted \u0026 talented older brother, Peter, was the key catalyst that spurred SLH to raise its CC \u0026 Road Relay Teams\u0027 standards to match and even eventually surpass our track \u0026 field team\u0027s successes of the early post-war years.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere is a Pirie family legend passed by word of mouth from generation to generation that their family originated in France. The story goes that three Pirie brothers fled to Scotland after the French King Louis XIV had rescinded the Edict of Nantes in October 1685. King Henry IV of France had issued that edict in April 1598, which granted the Calvinist Protestants (aka Huguenots) some religious \u0026 civil liberties in a predominantly Roman Catholic France. To escape the revocation\u0027s inevitable resultant persecution, the three Huguenot Pirie brothers allegedly stowed away in wine barrels on a sailing ship, which sailed from southern France to their new home in Scotland.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThere\u0027s a saying in journalism, that is attributed to the American author \u0026 humourist, Samuel Langhorne Clemens, better known by his pen name, Mark Twain: \"Never let the truth get in the way of a good story\". However, the Pirie-Family Historian, Diana Fabas-Pirie, based in Winnipeg, Canada, after a very thorough nine-year investigation casts doubts on that intriguing and very attractive colourful tale.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eDr Harold Moody\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAn example of the second criterion is the Moody family, whose environment shaped the outstanding character of our 1948 London Olympian, Dr. Harold Moody.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eDr. Harold Earnest Arundel Moody (b. 1915, in Peckham – d. 12/9/1986 in NZ) was not only a British Olympic athlete (1948 London shot \u0026 discus), but later in life, he was elected Mayor of Glen Eden, Auckland, New Zealand (1967-71). Educated at the Public School, Alleyns School, he then studied medicine at his famous father\u0027s \u0027alma mater\u0027: King\u0027s College Hospital Medical School, where he qualified in 1941 and although of mixed race, he became a commissioned officer who spent most of WWII in the British Royal Army Medical Corps, where he reached the rank of Major, as a doctor on troop ships in the hazardous \u0027u-boat infested\u0027 waters of the Atlantic, Mediterranean, \u0026 Indian Ocean, etc., that had to be negotiated.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1951 at his \u0027farewell\u0027 party, attended by a large \u0026 distinguished number of SLH \u0026 other friends, including the 1948 \u0026 1952 Olympic 400m Champion, Dr. Arthur Wint, Harold replying to the many tributes, revealed that his impending departure for a new life in New Zealand, had brought home to him how many friends he had made in athletics. He then called on his friends to toast the health of \u003cstrong\u003e\"my Club – SLH\"\u003c/strong\u003e. This was followed by a boisterous rendering of \"For he\u0027s a jolly good fellow\", led by the hurdler \u0027Jack\u0027 Parker on piano \u0026 Dr. Arthur Wint (WWII RAF pilot turned medical doctor).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHarold\u0027s grandfather, Charles Earnest Moody, was a pharmacist in Jamaica. Harold\u0027s famous father, Dr. Harold Arundel Moody (b.8/10/1882 – d. 24/4/1947) was born in Kingston, Jamaica, but sailed to the UK in 1904 to study medicine at King\u0027s College Hospital Medical School in London, where he qualified in 1913. That year he married an indigenous English nurse, Olive Tranter, with whom he worked at the Royal Eye Hospital, when he was doing post-graduate work there.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe then started his own medical practice at 111 King\u0027s Road (now King\u0027s Grove), Peckham, before moving in 1922 to 164 Queen\u0027s Road. His experiences of hardship \u0026 discrimination led him in 1931 to co-found \u0026 become President of the most influential organisation campaigning for the rights of African \u0026 Caribbean settlers in Britain: \u0027The League of Coloured Peoples\u0027. During WWII, he was often asked to advise government departments.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1995, he was honoured with an English Heritage Blue Plaque, describing him as \"a campaigner for racial equality\", at his former home: 164 Queen\u0027s Road, Peckham. In 1999, the former \u0027Consort Park\u0027 in Peckham was renamed \"Dr. Harold Moody Park\". In 2001, an Indian Bean Tree was planted in Chumleigh Gardens in Burgess Park, Walworth, in memory of Dr. Harold Moody. Also in 2001, a street in Peckham was named after Dr. Moody.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn WWII, five of his children were commissioned in the Army or RAF, including the eldest son, the SLH athlete from 1946 onwards, Dr. Harold E. A. Moody. The 6th \u0026 youngest child, Garth, was still a pilot cadet under training when the war ended. The 2nd son, Charles, served in the infantry \u0026 artillery, in North Africa \u0026 Italy. He reached the rank of major in 1945. He was only the 2nd ever \u0027black\u0027 or \u0027mixed race\u0027 person to gain an army commission after the famous ex-Spurs footballer, Walter Tull, in WW1 1917.\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eSeveral members have had distinguished careers in Academia\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eProfessor Laurence Joseph \u0027Laurie\u0027 Clein, B.Sc., M.B., B.S., (London), M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., (Eng), L.M.C.C., F.R.C.S., (Canada), A.B.H.P.M., is an SLH Life Member who joined SLH in August 1949. And who used to run what is now the 400m. At Dulwich College Prep School, he decisively won the DCPS 1947 \u0027Richmond\u0027 Cup 440 yards Championship, whilst Ferdie Gilson, 18 months younger, finished a distant 2nd. At Epsom College (1947 – 52), \u0027Laurie\u0027 became Head Prefect before completing his medical training at the London Hospital Medical School. \u0027Laurie\u0027 and his younger brother Dr. Geoffrey Peter Clein (my best friend at DCPS) both followed their father, Dr. Simon Clein, into the medical profession.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u0027Laurie\u0027 has been the Clinical Professor of Family Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan, College of Medicine, Saskatoon, Canada. He has also been the Medical Director of the Palliative Care Services for the Regina Qu\u0027Appelle Region, Regina, Saskatchewan. He was previously Consultant Neurosurgeon at the University of Alberta Hospital, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Approaching 81 years old, \u0027Laurie\u0027 no longer sees patients but still gives lectures at his local University in Regina. If more people were as altruistic as my earliest athletic friend, \u0027Laurie\u0027, the World would be a much better place.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eProfessor Emeritus Owen Hanson, MA (Cantab), MSc (Birkbeck External), PhD (City), MIM, FIMIS, who was elected to SLH in October 1950, is one of the SLH Life Members amongst the numerous Wallington County Grammar School alumni, who are or have been SLH members. Owen was Professor of Business Computing (aka Information Systems) at the City University, London, for many years, and on retirement was invited to \u0027do his thing\u0027 there for as long as he liked.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOwen has written three scientific books \u0026 co-written another. He was Visiting Professor at the University of Western Sydney for 6-month Semesters in 1999 \u0026 2003. He was Visiting Professor at Middlesex University from 1999 to 2011, running a series of joint industry/university KTP (knowledge transfer partnership) projects with his 2nd wife, Lena, who is an SLH Life Member.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter graduating in Natural Sciences at Cambridge in 1957, Owen started work as works metallurgist with Wilkinson Sword, then was manager of the works laboratory at Gillette \u0026 finally joined IBM to work in computing in 1964. It was while he was with IBM that he studied for his MSc in Computer Science in the evenings, and he was so surprised to find how irrelevant to the needs of industry that degree was, that when City University advertised to set up a business computing group, he joined them to lead that process, from a two-man team through a \u0027gang of four\u0027 to a Centre, and finally a large department with thousands of graduate \u0026 post-graduate students.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe has worked in many parts of the World: in every East European country for IBM before \u0026 after leaving IBM; in Western Europe as an External Examiner especially in Germany; in Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand \u0026 Australia as a conference participant \u0026 External Examiner; and less often in the USA; he also worked for the Chinese Universities Development Programme in China \u0026 Vietnam (at Hanoi\u0027s request).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOwen is a fine linguist, whose German, which includes specialist Physics, Maths \u0026 Chemistry translating, was near native in the 1970s; whose Polish is reasonable; and who can get by in Serbo-Croat (now separate Serbian \u0026 Croatian) \u0026 Russian, all of which helped in his work.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eProfessor Emeritus Robin Walsh, MA, PhD (Cantab), MRSC, who was elected to SLH in May 1955, is another SLH Life Member. After coming down from Cambridge, Robin carried out research at the Stanford Research Institute in California, USA (1964-66). On his return to the UK, Robin stated his long career at Reading University as a post-doctoral fellow (1986-67), Lecturer (1967-79), Reader (1979-94), Professor of Chemistry 1994-2004), and since then an Emeritus Professor.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eRobin\u0027s special field was Physical Chemistry, and his research interest, gas kinetics. It is difficult to briefly describe what Robin \u0026 his research team did, but one of their main contributions to knowledge was to lay the basis of understanding of silicon chemistry at the molecular level. These are the processes underlying silicon chip and silicone plastic manufacture. This work gained Robin awards from the American Chemical Society in 1994 and the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2001. Everyone using smart electronic devices owes a huge \u0027thank you\u0027 to Robin.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe educationalist, Professor Sir Christopher Anthony Woodhead, MA., was her Majesty\u0027s Chief Inspector of Schools in England \u0027Ofsted\u0027 (1994 – 2000). He was another scholar at Wallington County Grammar School when he joined SLH between January \u0026 March 1963. He was 65th in the 1965 National Youths U18 CC Championship.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe gained his MA., at Keele University, before teaching English at schools in London; Shrewsbury, Shropshire (1969 – 72); Gloucestershire (asst. head of Eng. 1972 – 74); \u0026 Somerset (Head of Eng. 1974 – 76). He then became a lecturer at Oxford University and held posts in education development, incl., Deputy Chief Education Officer in Devon (1988 - 90) \u0026 similar posts in Shropshire \u0026 Cornwall (1990 – 91).\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe was Chief Executive of the National Curriculum Council (1991 – 93), and also the School Curriculum \u0026 Assessment Authority (1993 – 94), later replaced by the Qualifications \u0026 Curriculum Authority, which replaced the National Curriculum Council and the School Examinations \u0026 Assessment Council from 1993.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eHe has been a Daily Telegraph and Sunday Times Columnist. In 2002, he wrote the book \"Class War: The State of British (State) Education\" and in 2009 he wrote \"A Desolation of Learning: Is this the Education our Children deserve?\". In 2002, he was appointed a Professor of Education at the University of Buckingham. In 2004, he became Chairman of \u0027Cognita\u0027, which owns \u0026 runs independent schools.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eAfter recently contracting MND (Motor Neurone Disease), Chris set up a Foundation to help those who are less financially \u0026 personally able to cope with the onset of MND.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eJohn Paul Randall, CBE, BA (York), FCGI, Hon. LLD (Nottingham Trent), is another SLH member who joined SLH in August or September 1964 when he was at Wallington County Grammar School. He ran in the 1967 \u0026 1968 National Junior Men\u0027s U21 CC Championships. When he was at York University, he became a radical President (1973 – 75) of the NUS (National Union of Students). During his presidency, he put the \u0027NUS\u0027 on the map when he seemed to be constantly on TV \u0026 Radio.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eJohn was Director, Professional Standards \u0026 Development of the Law Society of England \u0026 Wales (1987 – 1997). From 1997 to 2001, John was the Chief Executive of the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education, the higher education equivalent of Chris Woodhead\u0027s \u0027Ofsted\u0027 role. He then became a consultant on higher education \u0026 professional training, in some 20 countries around the World, in addition to undertaking several other varied but important roles, including completing 11 years as the Independent Chairman of the Police Negotiating Board for which he was awarded the CBE in the New Year\u0027s honours on January 1st 2015.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe SLH Gazette and Club Chronicle\u003c/strong\u003e\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe Club\u0027s magazine, \u0027The SLH Gazette and Club Chronicle\u0027, is now in 2019 in its 135th year of unbroken publication. Even during WWI \u0026 WWII an average of about two issues per year were published. It is considered to be the World\u0027s earliest and oldest athletics or sports magazine, about 10 years older than the next oldest sports magazine, that has been continuously published and is still published. It was founded something like 10 years earlier than its nearest rival, which it is believed to be a publication in the USA.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eThe inception of the SLH Gazette in January 1885 was due to George Lacy-Hillier (b. 6/6/1856 – d. 11/2/1941), who was our first Gazette Editor. He was a non-scorer for SLH in the National Senior CC Championship in 1886 held in Croydon. He was also a non-scorer for SLH in the Southern Senior CC Championship in 1884 at Hendon \u0026 1885 at Sandown Park. Apart from founding our Gazette, his greatest other contribution to SLH was discovering Herbert A. Heath, the 1892 \u0026 1893 National Senior CC Champion.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eThe Thornton 10 Mile CC\u0026nbsp;Club Championship Challenge Cup\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eShortly before our most respected President (1874-1885) Richard Thornton died in 1885, just about every member contributed to the purchase of the \"Thornton\" 10 Mile CC Club Championship Challenge Cup in his honour. This is unique in the History of SLH. The first \"Thornton\" SLH 10 miles Club CC Championship Race was run in March 1886, well over 10 years \u0026 9 months before the first \"Nicholls\" SLH v Blackheath Mob match. The \"Thornton\" Cup was engraved with the names of all the winners of the SLH 10 mile CC Club Championship from its inception in 1879, which makes it the second oldest SLH CC Club Championship after the \"Gibb\" Cup SLH 5 mile CC Club Championship, one year earlier in 1878.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eRichard Thornton had borne the whole cost of converting a \u0027shanty hut\u0027 into a much larger and most commodious Clubhouse at our SLH Grounds HQ in Balham in 1884.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eRichard Thornton\u0027s much respected widow became our first lady member when she was elected an SLH Vice-President in 1888, a title which she held until her death in 1915. In January 1920, Mrs L.L. Ayres, the mother of our late CC Captain, S.F. Ayres, who fell in 1917, was the second ever lady to be elected an SLH member.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eIntroduction of\u0026nbsp;the\u0026nbsp;SLH Ladies\u0026nbsp;- 1982\u003c/strong\u003e\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eIn 1982, after several years of unsuccessful negotiations with \u0027Selsonia Ladies AC\u0027 and two local \u0027Mixed\u0027 Clubs, so that we could immediately have a number of \u0027readymade members\u0027 of the distaff side in SLH, we changed our strategy and successfully became a \u0027Mixed\u0027 Club without merging with another Club. Since then the number of such members has gradually grown. Strangely enough, more often than not, most resistance to the concept of \u0027Mixed\u0027 Clubs came from \u0027Ladies Only\u0027 Clubs.\u003c/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eOur most successful lady member has been Natalie Harvey, who joined SLH in 1997. She represented Australia in the 1996 Atlanta (5,000m) \u0026 2000 Sydney (10,000m) Olympics, the 1999 World Championships (5,000m), four World CC Championships (1998-2002) \u0026 the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Championships. On March 4h 2004, she was granted \u0027change of allegiance\u0027 and represented Great Britain in three World CC Championships (2004-2006) \u0026 England in the 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Championships (5,000m).\u003cbr\u003e\u003c/p\u003e","ComponentCode":null,"ComponentData":null,"ComponentError":null,"Background":{"Colour":null,"ImageURL":null,"ImageCrop":null,"Filter":null,"Html":"\u003cdiv class=\"cms-image\"\u003e\u003c/div\u003e"}}],"Height":0,"ColumnSpacing":0,"BottomMargin":0,"IsFullWidth":false,"IsBackgroundFullWidth":false,"Background":{"Colour":null,"ImageURL":null,"ImageCrop":null,"Filter":null,"Html":"\u003cdiv class=\"cms-image\"\u003e\u003c/div\u003e"}}],"PageURL":"https://www.myclubhouse.co.uk/SLH/Cms/Spaces/ABOUT/SLH+History?version=6","AllVersions":[{"ID":30,"Name":"v1 - SLH History - Mary James - 13/11/2018 14:26"},{"ID":136,"Name":"v2 - SLH History - Mary James - 01/07/2019 15:12"},{"ID":138,"Name":"v3 - SLH History - Mary James - 01/07/2019 15:18"},{"ID":417,"Name":"v4 - SLH History - Mary James - 23/09/2019 15:11"},{"ID":418,"Name":"v5 - SLH History - Mary James - 23/09/2019 15:30"},{"ID":419,"Name":"v6 - SLH History - Mary James - 23/09/2019 15:39"}],"Comments":[],"UpdatedComments":[],"Spaces":[],"LastViewTime":null,"CanEdit":false,"CanPublish":false,"CanComment":false,"CanReadComments":false,"CanModerateComments":false,"CanLike":false}